Woodvale beat Laurelvale by 9 wickets
Laurelvale 102 (26.4 overs: Adnan Malik 31; Carl Robinson 5-14, Ludwig Kaestner 3-5, James Rose 2-15)
Woodvale 103/1 (14.2 overs: Harry Warke 58, Aditya Adey 38*)

Laurelvale must have had hopes of an upset when Mark Thornbury and Adnan Malik raced away adding 64 in ten overs before their partnership was broken. From there however it was all down hill as only 42 more were added as Carl Robinson ran through the order claiming a five-for and an early claim to the MOM award. A quick-fire half century by Woodvale skipper Harry Warke (9x4, 2x6) sealed the win inside fifteen overs but not the MOM award which rightly went to leg spinner Carl Robinson for his demolition of the opposition.

Lurgan lost to Lisburn by 3 wickets
Lurgan 142 (49.2 overs: Stephen Chambers 45, Stephen Johnston 20; Neil Whitworth 3-26, Josh Manley 2-13, Matthew Humphreys 2-20, Faiz Fazal 2-21)
Lisburn 146/7 (35.2 overs: Neil Whitworth 50*, Jonathan Waite 28, Faiz Fazal 20; Darwish Nazari 2-27, Peter Maxwell 3-35)

Lurgan found the going tough against the Lisburn attack after Stephen Johnston and Johnny Hunter had added 40 for the first wicket. And it was the thirty seventh over before the hundred was raised by which time six more wickets had fallen, two in two balls to Matthew Humphreys, both lbw. A total of 142 looked well below par but the wickets of Faiz Fazal and Nigel Jones gave the home side hope. Not to be though as Lisburn Skipper Neil Whitworth battled through to a not out half-century in the less than comfortable three wicket win.

Waringstown beat Cliftonville Academy by 8 wickets
Cliftonville Academy 196 (49.5 overs: Abhishek Raut 70, Francis Collins 35, Matthew McCord 30, Bilawal Bhatti 5-30)
Waringstown 197/2 (31.5 overs: James McCollum 66*, Matthew Halliday 60, Sam Topping 27, Lee Nelson 26*)

Former Pakistan Test player Bilawal Bhatti ensured that Cliftonville Academy were held to less than 200 with five wickets for an economical 30 runs in his ten over spell. Abhishek Raut marshalled the tail as best he could but it still took late runs from Matty McCord and Adam Kelso to post their 196. And that proved to be far from competitive as the Waringstown top four rattled off the target inside 32 overs. Matthew Halliday with a half century for his new club and James McCollum adding another as he and Lee Nelson sealed the win.

Derriaghy beat Carrickfergus by 25 runs
Derriaghy 182 (46.4 overs: Ross Bailey 60; Alex Armstrong 3-29, Ruan Haasbroek 2-43)
Carrickfergus 157 (38 overs: Alex Haggan 45, CJ van der Walt 43, Iain Parkhill 20; Renco Adams 4-19, Wayne Hughes 2-26, Craig Lewis 2-39)

With Ryan Beckett bowled by off-spinner Ruan Haasbroek for just a single and Stephen Cairnduff run out in the same over Derriaghy slumped to 7/2 before Ross Bailey and Aaron Kinnin added 45 for the third wicket. Bailey went on to top score with 60 adding another 40 with Craig Lewis but it was hard to break the shackles towards the end on the innings and the home side were all out with 3 overs unused, with young left-arm spinner Alex Armstrong claiming three wickets. In the chase Renco Adams was straight into the action with the wicket of Gilmour, following that up with two more in the shape of Haasbroek and Sam Gordon. Carrick needed a partnership between Alex Haggan and CJ van der Walt and they added 70 but vd Walt was quickly followed by Prince Sharma and Richard Hood leaving Haggan as Carrick’s last hope. In the end despite some resistance from young Alex Armstrong the final three wicket fell for just a single two of them including Haggan’s to Wayne Hughes.

Instonians beat Donacloney Mill by 10 wickets
Donacloney Mill 211/9 (50 overs: Shane Warren 106, Ryan Matthews 30, Neil Kilpatrick 27; Cian Robertson 3-33, Robert Craigan 3-37, James Magee 2-41)
Instonians 217/0 (26 overs: Ollie Metcalfe 153*, Robert McKinley 54*)

A century from Donacloney Mill skipper Shane Warren ensured that his side set Instonians a 200+ target, but it was one that proved to be totally inadequate in the face of an Ollie Metcalfe onslaught. Metcalfe hit 153 not out in the 10 wicket win - his 90 ball innings containing 18x4s & 10x6s - carrying Instonians into the next round in just 26 overs.

Cregagh lost to North Down by 4 wickets
Cregagh 112 (38.3 overs: Bob Moore 22; Alistair Shields 5-16, Liam Hayman 2-17, Ryan Haire 2-10)
North Down 116/6 (26.2 overs: Stephen Saul 39, Alistair Shields 23; Graeme Hassard 3-22)

It was Alistair Shields with the golden arm as Cregagh were bowled out for just 112 after being asked to bat by the visitors. Shields’ ten overs cost only 16 runs, his five wickets breaking the back of the Cregagh batting lineup while Liam Hayman and Ryan Haire each picked up a couple. With such a low target North Down dispensed with their tried and tested opening pair of Shields and Chore and just for a moment it looked as if that could backfire on them. With Graeme Hassard taking three wickets Shields and Chore would get their chance at the crease after all, the six wicket win for North Down rather more comfortable than perhaps it sounds.

CSNI beat Ballymena by 6 wickets
Ballymena 222/6 (50 overs: Glen Adams 74, Sam Glass 55; Matthew Foster 3-39)
CSNI 226/4 (31.1 overs: Jordan Neill 92, Marc Ellison 57*, Colin Archibald 40)

Glen Adams and Sam Glass hit half-centuries in what looked like a decent Ballymena total, Matty Foster’s with 3-39 the only CSNI bowler with more than a singleton. But it only took the home side into the thirty second over to secure the win, opener Colin Archibald with 40 off 23 balls (6x4,2x6) and Jordan Neill a 77 ball 92 (10x4, 3x6) adding 95 with Marc Ellison as CSNI raced into the quarter-finals in a fortnight’s time.

CIYMS lost to Muckamore by 7 wickets
CIYMS 171 (48 overs: Max Burton 56, Tyron Koen 32, Bamanye Xenxe 20; Neil Gill 2-14, Jason van der Merwe 2-25)
Muckamore 177/3 (33 overs: Sathish Suresh 78, Kyllin Vardhan 56, Jason van der Merwe 26*; Tyron Koen 2-33)

CIYMS struggled to 30/3 in ten overs after choosing to bat first before Max Burton and Tyron Koen added 89 for the fourth wicket. Koen’s wicket was the signal for two more without addition as Burton was dismissed and then Carson McCullough without scoring, and it took late runs from Bamanye Xenxe and Mark Best to get CIYMS to what was a distinctly vulnerable looking total of 171. The loss of big-hitting Ewan Wilson did nothing to halt the Muckamore charge to victory as Kylliin Vardhan and Sathish Suresh added 129, and Suresh took his side to within 17 of a huge upset before he became Tyron Koen’s second victim. All that was left was for CIYMS ‘old boy’ Jason van der Merwe, now back at his home club to seal the win in the shock of the day, doing it in style with 4, 6 off CI skipper John Matchett.