Eimear Richardson has been named in Ireland's squad for the T20 World Cup Qualifiers next month which is being held in the UAE.

The veteran all-rounder replaces Clontarf teenager Freya Sargent in the 15-player squad that will be vying for one of the two places on offer for the finals in Bangladesh  being held in September/October.

Laura Delany will skipper the squad, who will play a two-match series in Dubai against Thailand  ahead of the tournament proper.

Delany will be hoping to win her 200th cap in that Thailand series. She along with Gaby Lewis are the only surivors from the successful WCQ win back in 2015.

Following the games against Thailand, Ed Joyce's side will take on the USA and Scotland in warm-up matches, before facing hosts UAE, Zimbabwe, Vanuatu and Netherlands in the group phase.

Ireland squad:

Laura Delany (captain), Ava Canning, Alana Dalzell, Georgina Dempsey, Amy Hunter, Arlene Kelly, Gaby Lewis, Louise Little, Joanna Loughran, Jane Maguire, Cara Murray, Leah Paul, Orla Prendergast, Eimear Richardson, Rebecca Stokell.


Thailand series

16 April: Ireland Women v Thailand Women (1st T20I; UAE)
18 April: Ireland Women v Thailand Women (2nd T20I; UAE)
ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Global Qualifier

21 April: Warm-up game v Scotland Women (T20I; UAE)
23 April: Warm-up game v USA Women (T20I; UAE)
25 April: Ireland Women v UAE Women (Qualifier Group Stage; UAE)
29 April: Ireland Women v Zimbabwe Women (Qualifier Group Stage; UAE)
1 May: Ireland Women v Vanuatu Women (Qualifier Group Stage; UAE)
3 May: Ireland Women v Netherlands Women (Qualifier Group Stage; UAE)