Following the recent ICC Challenge League play-off tournament in Malaysia, four of the visiting teams extended their stay to participate in the Malaysia Open T20 Championship along with the hosts, with Bahrain finishing as victors after beating the home side in Monday's final in Kuala Lumpur.

Bahrain went unbeaten in the round-robin stage, with Malaysia finishing second having only lost to the Bahranis. Kuwait were third, Vanuatu fourth, whilst Tanzania took home the wooden spoon after losing every game.

The home side won the toss and chose to bat first in the final, but could only manage 77-9 from their 20 overs, with just two batters reaching double figures. Rizwan Butt was the pick of the Bahrain bowlers with 3-10.

Bahrain lost both openers cheaply but were otherwise untroubled in their reply. An unbeaten third wicket partnership of 67 between Sohail Ahmed (32) and Haider Butt (37) helped secure the eight wicket win with 4.2 overs to spare.

Earlier in the day, Kuwait beat Vanuatu by seven wickets in the third place play-off.