Holders Waringstown begin the defence of their Challenge Cup crown with a home tie against fellow Premiership rivals Cliftonville Academy.

It's one of two all-Premiership clashes, with CIYMS - winners in five of the last nine years - facing Muckamore in the other.

Those second round matches take place on June 1st, with the four first round games scheduled for May 4th.

North Down, the tournament's most successful side with 32 wins, start their quest for their 33rd with an away day trip to the winners of Armagh and Cregagh.

CSNI, who last won in 2016, entertain Ballymena, while another mouthwatering clash has last season's beaten finalists Carrickefergus taking on Derriaghy at Queensway.

Premier champions Instonians, who last tasted success in the 2012 tournament have been drawn at home to the winners of the Belfast/Donacloney Mill tie.

In the other ties, four times winners Lurgan will be hoping they can overcome Drumaness Superkings in order to set up a clash with Lisburn - who last tasted success back in 1994 - the tenth time they had either won or shared the trophy.

Woodvale - another side who have won the trophy ten times - await the winners of the Templepatrick/Laurelvale first round clash.

The final will once again be held at Stormont on Friday August 2nd.

Challenge Cup Winners 2023 - Waringstown (©CricketEurope)

NCU Challenge Cup Draw

  • Armagh/Cregagh v North Down
  • CIYMS v Muckamore
  • CSNI v Ballymena
  • Derriaghy v Carrickfergus
  • Instonians v Belfast/Donacloney Mill
  • Lurgan/Drumaness Superkings v Lisburn
  • Waringstown v Cliftonville Academy
  • Woodvale v Templepatrick/Laurelvale