The Netherlands have won the Nepal T20I series after beating the hosts by four wickets in the final today in Kirtipur.

Nepal captain Rohit Paudel won the toss and chose to bat first. Aasif Sheikh provided the impetus at the top of the order with a knock of 47 before being trapped lbw by Michael Levitt in the 14th over.

Contributions also came from Gulshan Jha (34) and Kushal Malla (26) as Nepal scored 184-8 from their 20 overs. Seven bowlers were used by Dutch captain Scott Edwards, with Fred Klassen, Timm van der Gugten, Michael Levitt and Sybrand Engelbrecht each taking two wickets.

The Dutch opening pair of Michael Levitt and Max O'Dowd clubbed 83 from the first eight overs before O'Dowd was dismissed for 22 from the first ball of the ninth over. Levitt was out for 54 from 29 balls four balls later.

Sybrand Engelbrecht kept up with the pace with 48 from 29 balls before he was caught from the first ball of the penultimate over. Timm van der Gugten came to the crease and hit his first ball for six, ending the over with a four to leave the visitors needing 7 from the last over.

Roelof van der Merwe got a single from the first ball of the final over to get van der Gugten back on strike, who promptly hit a four followed by a six to secure the four wicket win with three balls to spare, van der Gugten having faced only five balls for his 21.

Nepal are back in action in just a few days with a one-off T20I away to Hong Kong for the "Friendship Cup", before playing another T20I tri-series against Hong Kong and Papua New Guinea as preparation for the T20 World Cup heats up. The Netherlands next play in May when they host a T20I tri-series with European rivals Ireland and Scotland.