Saudi Arabia have won a four team men's T20I tournament in Thailand after beating the hosts by 8 wickets in the final to cap a dominant performance.

The Saudis were clearly the best team throughout the round robin stage, beating the Maldives by 98 runs, hosts Thailand by five wickets and Bhutan by a mammoth 166 runs in a match where Waji ul Hassan scored 115 from only 62 balls to become Saudi Arabia's first T20I centurion and Zain Ul Abidin took 5-6, the best bowling figures for the team in T20Is.

Thailand finished second with a ten wicket defeat over Bhutan and an 8 wicket win over Maldives, whilst Maldives finished third in this stage, beating Bhutan by nine wickets.

The top two teams then met in yesterday's final, with Saudi captain Hisham Shaikh winning the toss and choosing to bowl first. The home side were unable to put together any significant partnership as they were restricted to 104-9 from their 20 overs. Usman Khalid was the pick of the bowlers with 4-28, whilst Atif-ur-Rehman took 3-13.

The visitors had little trouble chasing down their target, doing so in 11.2 overs to win by 8 wickets. Faisal Khan top scored with an unbeaten 47 from 36 balls.

The third place play-off - somewhat unusually - took place later in the day with Bhutan gaining revenge for their defeat in the round-robin stage with a four wicket win over Maldives with Thinley Jamtsho scoring 64 from 42 balls.

The win follows a successful campaign for Saudi Arabia at the recent ACC Challenger Cup where they beat Cambodia in the final, with both teams qualifying for April's ACC Premier Cup from which one team qualifies for the next Asia Cup. The other eight teams iin that tournament will be hosts Oman along with Bahrain, Hong Kong, Kuwait, Malaysia, Nepal, Qatar and UAE.