Irish Cricket Online logo
History Series
Irish Cricket 1950-2000
Mike Halliday looks back on Irish Cricket in the latter half of the 20th century.
North West Cricket
Billy Platt's series on famous North West cricketers and events through the years.
Phoenix CC 1830-1990
Phoenix, the first cricket club in Ireland, was founded in 1830.
The Great War
A series published to commemorate the centenary of the first World War.
Memorable Matches
Famous matches in the history of Irish international cricket..
Irish Cricketers
Profiles of well-known Irish international cricketers from various decades.
Regular Features
Miscellaneous articles on many aspects of Irish cricket History.
Photo galleries from important matches and tournaments.
Video clips of significant events and matches in Irish Cricket.

These features are added to on an ongoing basis.

Ulster Cup Competitions 2000-2017
Ulster Cup
  • Ulster Cup
    Waringstown beat Bready by 79 runs.
    The Green, 13 August.
    Waringstown 158-7 (20.0 overs, G Thompson 32, J Hall 31, M McClean 25, R Kelly 2-30, A Lucas 2-33)
    Bready 79 (14.4 overs, L Nelson 2-11,G Kidd 3-16, K McCallan 2-14)
  • Ulster Cup
    North Down lost to Bready by 7 wickets.
    The Green, 13 August.
    North Down 119-9 (20.0 overs, P Eakin 50, N Burns 32, A Lucas 3-17, I Samarasooriya 2-17, D Rankin 2-23)
    Bready 121-3 (16.5 overs, D Rankin 58, I Samarasooriya 36)
  • Ulster Cup
    Coleraine lost to Waringstown by 9 wickets.
    Saintfield, 13 August.
    Coleraine 100-6 (20.0 overs, D Cooke 27*, J Mitchell 2-17, L Nelson 2-31)
    Waringstown 103-1 (11 overs, J Hall 41*, L Nelson 33*)
Ulster Shield
Ulster Plate
  • Ulster Plate
    CIYMS II beat Brigade II by 6 wickets.
    Belmont, 27 August.
    Brigade II 107 (31.5 overs, S Scroggie 22, C Dixon 20, D Allison 4-31, C Robinson 2-11, H Auchmuty 2-15, D Robinson 2-19)
    CIYMS II 110-4 (35.3 overs, A Maitland 33, B Cooper 22*, H Waterstone 3-32)
  • Ulster Plate
    Brigade II beat CSNI II.
    13 August.
  • Ulster Plate
    CIYMS II beat Donemana II by 5 runs.
    Belmont, 30 July.
    CIYMS II 114-7 (J Matchett 32, C Robinson 30, K Gougherty 2-19)
    Donemana II 109-8 (K Dougherty 40, B Smith 2-23, P McCreery 2-10)
Round 2
  • Brigade II beat Waringstown II by 7 wickets.
    Beechgrove, 2 July.
    Waringstown II 145 (40 overs; J Waite 41, R Dennison 36, B Carson 22; G Connor 2-21, M Simpson 2-28, S Scroggie 2-29)
    Brigade 146-3 (21.2 overs; D Murdock 70, A Kitson 41, S Scroggie 20*)
  • CIYMS II beat Bready II by 4 wickets.
    Magheramason, 2 July.
    Bready 77 (34.2 overs; M McCloskey 19, B Smith 3-12, D Allison 3-30, B McCreery 2-12)
    CIYMS 78-6 (28.3 overs; D Allen 3-11)
  • CSNI II beat Muckamore II by 43 runs.
    2 July.
    CSNI II 183-9 (P Beverland 50, N Hodgins 35, S Ross 33; D Cardwell 2-20, P Karthik 2-31, R Keates 2-37)
    Muckamore II 140 (S Stephenson 35, D Rainey 31,C Breet 30 ; S Ross 3-15, R Ghondia 3-14)
  • Lisburn II lost to Donemana II by 138 runs.
    Wallace Park, 2 July.
    Donemana II 269-7 (K Dougherty 54, M Moore 38, L Dougherty 37, J Robinson 30, R McBrine 24, JUn McBrine 20*, R Laird 20; M Prentice 2-35) Lisburn II 131 (33.4 overs; W Rudd 41, Na Doak 33; Junior McBrine 4-21, R Campbell 2-19, W McBrine 2-30)
Round 1
  • Ulster Plate
    CIYMS II beat Ardmore II by 50 runs.
    Belmont, 25 June.
    CIYMS II 194-7 (D Robinson 71*, L Brolly 3-8, G Brolly 3-51)
    Ardmore II 144 (S Gormly 65, D Robinson 3-17, J Matchett 2-9, D Allison 2-37)
  • Ulster Plate
    CSNI II beat Bonds Glen II by 3 wickets.
    Stormont, 25 June.
    Bonds Glen II 170 (K Magee 69, M Foster 3-27, S Ross 2-21, R Ghondia 2-24)
    CSNI II 171-7 (P Beverland 82, S Ross 31*, K Moore 4-36, C Hall 2-25)
  • Ulster Plate
    Donemana II beat Downpatrick II by 271 runs.
    The Holm, Donemana, 25 June.
    Donemana II 482-3 (J Huey 193, K Dougherty 117, L Boyd 119)
    Downpatrick II 211 (P Linehan 71, T Magowan 48, D Mullen 23, J Thompson 23, K Dougherty 2-63)
  • Ulster Plate
    Eglinton II lost to Waringstown II by 119 runs.
    Eglinton, 25 June.
    Waringstown II 258-4 (J Hunter 101, J Carson 78)
    Eglinton II 139 (J Martin 59, J Mitchell 3-28, J Hiunter 2-3, J Carson 2-45)
  • Ulster Plate
    Fox Lodge II lost to Muckamore II by 124 runs.
    Ballymagorry, 25 June.
    Muckamore II 274-8 (S Stephenson 81, A Adey 50, T Neill 44, T Nicholl 2-44, L Kerr 2-49)
    Fox Lodge II 150 (C Allen 47, A Logue 28, T Neill 2-14, Leslie Allen 2-22)
  • Ulster Plate
    North Down II lost to Brigade II by 40 runs.
    The Green, 25 June.
    Brigade II 284-2 (D Murdock 122*, C Dixon 89, A Kitson 29*)
    North Down II 240 (N Burns 70, H Coulter 45, W Adams 25, R Macbeth 4-58, H Waterstone 2-53)
  • Ulster Plate
    Bready II beat Carrickfergus II.
    Magheramason, 25 June.
    Bready 220(Marc McCloskey 56, Lee Kelly 43, Dale McGonigle 21; S Grant 6-53)
    Carrickfergus 85(R Hood 35; Lee Kelly 4-15)
  • Ulster Plate
    Lisburn II beat Coleraine II by 6 wickets.
    Wallace Park, 25 June.
    Coleraine 82 (M Prentice 4-5)
    Lisburn 83-4 (M Turkington 30*, N Doak 23, S Hutchinson 2-24)
Reports & Articles
Ulster Plate draw
Holders CIYMS travel to Bonds Glen in the opening round of the Ulster Plate competition.
CIYMS win Ulster Plate
CIYMS beat 2015 winners Brigade to claim their first Ulster Plate win in the final at Belmont.
Future of Ulster Shield in doubt
THE future of the Ulster Shield is in doubt following the apathy of clubs last week to take part in last Sundayís Finals Day.
Strabane win Ulster Shield after super over
Strabane are the Ulster Shield winners for 2017 after Tommy Barr's side beat St Johnston in a nerve-jangling "super over" after the two sides had tied the 20-over decider.
Waringstown clinch Ulster Cup triumph
Waringstown clinched their first Ulster Cup triumph in the 19 year history of the competition, played for the first time this season in T20 format.
Ulster Shield shambles
Armagh follow Woodvale and withdraw from Ulster Shield competition.
Woodvale spoil the party
One level down, the Ulster Shield this year is also a T20 competition but Woodvale, beaten finalists in the NCUís Twenty20 Trophy have spoiled the party, claiming they couldnít get a team to travel to the North West!
Woodvale withdraw from Ulster Shield finals day
Woodvale have decided not to play in the Ulster Shield T20 finals day and will be replaced by Holywood.
CIYMS beat Donemana
CIYMS reach Ulster Plate final with five-run win against Donemana.
Semi-finalists decided in Ulster Plate
Holders Bready crashed out of the Ulster Plate after a four-wicket loss at home to CIYMS. Ben Smith and David Allison took three wickets apiece as the Magheramason side were skittled for just 77.
Holders through in Ulster Plate
The first round of the O'Neills Ulster Plate took place on Sunday with 5 NCU and 3 NW sides progressing to the last eight.
Bready begin Ulster Plate defence
Bready II start the defence of the Ulster Plate on Sunday with a home game against Carrickfergus II as North West clubs aim to continue their domination of the competition.
Audio Interviews
Ulster Cup Final: Waringstown v Bready