CricketEurope Ireland logo
Irish Cup Archives 1982-2019


  • BRIGADE beat LEINSTER by 8 wickets
    Rathmines (Dublin), 7th September
    Leinster 199-6 JV Byrne 56, JE Byrne 53, R Waddell 44*
    Brigade 201-2 C Jeffrey 84*, Akram Raza 67
    Man of the Match: Colin Jeffrey (Brigade)

LEINSTER                          Bowling: BRIGADE
JE Byrne c Nicholl b Simpson 53   Wallace   10  3  16  0
M Jones        lbw b Huey     1   Huey       4  0  20  1
JV Byrne       run out       58   Nicholl   10  2  32  0
R Waddell      not out       44   Wilson G   6  0  32  2
P Byrne        b Raza        26   Raza      10  1  48  1
M Topping      b G Wilson     4   Simpson   10  0  40  1
C Colleran c Anthony b Wilson 1
R McDonnell                       FOW
P Cron                            3, 115, 119, 178, 197
R Hanson
J Cravan
Extras (7 lb, 6 w, 1 nb)     14
Total (6 wickets, 50 overs) 199

BRIGADE                           Bowling: LEINSTER
C Jeffrey       not out      84   Cron       9  0  56  0
W Wilson c Colleran b McD'll 32   Waddell   10  2  19  0
A Raza   c Topping b P Byrne 67   Craven     5  1  33  0
M Kilgore       not out      13   Byrne P    7  0  40  1
I Anthony                         McDonnell 8.1 1  42  1
W Torrance                        Topping    2  0   9  0
G Wilson
M Simpson                         FOW
I Nicholl                         81, 180
P Wallace
D Huey
Extras       (2 b, 3 w)       5
Total (2 wkts, 44.1 overs)  201


  • Brigade beat Lisburn by 7 wickets.
    Lisburn 158-8 (N Barry 71, G Wilson 4-32)
    Brigade 163-3 (Akram Raza 52*)

  • Leinster beat Waringstown by 10 runs.
    Leinster 176-6 (J Byrne 52, M Jones 50)
    Waringstown 166-7 (A Waite 61, G Harrison 49)


  • Waringstown beat Cliftonville by 5 wickets.
  • Bready lost to Leinster by 27 runs.
  • Ardmore lost to Brigade by 6 wickets.
  • Eglinton lost to Lisburn by 7 wickets.

3rd Round

  • Ardmore beat Muckamore by 38 runs.
  • Brigade beat CYM by 51 runs.
  • Bready beat Downpatrick by 7 wickets.
  • Eglinton beat Sion Mills by 60 runs.
  • Cliftonville beat Limavady by 15 runs.
  • Lisburn beat North Down by 8 wickets.
  • Waringstown beat Strabane by 70 runs.
  • Merrion lost to Leinster by 2 wickets.

2nd Round

  • Sion Mills beat Railway Union by 101 runs.
  • Brigade beat Carlisle by 2 wickets.
  • Muckamore beat Donemana by 8 wickets.
  • NICC lost to Limavady by 6 wickets.
  • Drummond lost to Cliftonville by 4 wickets.
  • Leinster beat Woodvale by 2 runs.
  • North County lost to Waringstown by 4 wickets.
  • Old Belvedere lost to Ardmore by 2 wickets.
  • Pembroke lost to North Down by 3 wickets.
  • Phoenix lost to Lisburn by 5 wickets.
  • Rush lost to Strabane by 5 wickets.
  • The Hills lost to Downpatrick by 5 wickets.
  • Dublin YMCA lost to Eglinton by 22 runs.
  • Merrion beat Cork Harlequins by 289 runs.
  • Cork County lost to CYM by 6 wickets.
  • Crindle lost to Bready by 8 wickets.

1st Round

  • Bangor lost to Carlisle by 1 wicket.
  • Malahide lost to Muckamore by 117 runs.
  • Bready beat Clontarf by 6 wickets.
  • CYM beat Lurgan by 24 runs.
Reports & Articles

First success for Brigade (by Ian Callender)

Brigade defeated Leinster to win the Irish Senior Cup for the first time. In their fourth final they returned to Rathmines, the graveyard of so many North West dreams ever since Brigade lost there in 1984, to become the first team from the area to win the Cup away from home.

Five times North West sides have made a final in Dublin and five times they have lost, but once Colin Jeffrey and William Wilson had conquered the early big match nerves the lightweight target of 200 on a good batting wicket and fast outfield proved to be just that. Jeffrey stayed throughout the winning reply, his undefeated 84 off 122 balls deservedly earning him the man of the match. His only rival was Akram Raza who took the game out of Leinster's reach when dominating a second wicket stand of 99 in just 18 overs. The popular Pakistani professional failed to see it through but allowed captain Marshall Kilgore to strike the winning boundary with 35 balls to spare.

Raza was unusually expensive with the ball but the bonus for Brigade was Leinster professional Paul Cron's wayward spell. The South African, held back in Dublin to boost his adopted club's chances, was a massive disappointment as the Brigade top three continued their recent impressive form. The difference between the teams was always likely to be the strength in bowling and while Brigade could call on Mark Simpson to stop the Leinster innings careering out of control at the end, the home team's sixth bowler Mark Topping was hit out of the attack after just two overs by Raza.

The Leinster batting mirrored the semi final effort against Waringstown with the vital exception that big hitting Mark Jones was trapped in front before he attempted anything and after that they were totally reliant on Joe and Johnny Byrne. Their stand of 112 in thirty one overs should have been the basis of a score well in excess of 200 but in spite of a run-a-ball partnership between Munster representative Richie Waddell and Peter Byrne, the really big double figure overs were missing. Brigade's bowling was workmanlike rather than spectacular but against the limited batting line up the former was enough.

William Wilson, determined to play his part after three losing Irish Cup finals, almost kept in touch with his opening partner and the ease with which they dispatched the bad balls to the wall promised much. It was 24 overs before Leinster made the breakthrough but for them it was the `wrong man'. Jeffrey, increasing in confidence as one bowler after another was seen off, could afford to lean on his bat between his favourite extra cover drives and watch Raza take control.