CricketEurope Ireland logo
Irish Cup Archives 1982-2019


  • LURGAN beat CLONTARF by 73 runs
    Rathmines, 1st September
    Lurgan 251-9 R McCollum 91, D Neill 52, G Hunter 47, B McNeice 3-23
    Clontarf 178 A Johnston 3-23
    Man of the Match: R McCollum (Lurgan)

S Kshirasgar         run out   0   Bowling: CLONTARF
T Guy         c Daly b Barry   0   McNeice   10  1  56  3
D Neill             run out   52   Barry      5  0  40  1
R McCollum   c Rea b Kirwan   91   Vincent    6  1  26  1
G Hunter      lbw B McNeice   47   Kirwan   9.4  0  65  1
A Hunter  c McClean b Scolari 24   O'Mahony 9.2  4  12  0
A Donnelly   c Rea B McNeice   3   Scolari   10  1  43  1
R Burton           b Vincent   4
A Johnston          not out   11   FOW
A Woods     c Daly B McNeice   5   0, 2, 510, 152, 158,
P Lyness             not out   0   206, 228, 232, 242
Extras                        14
Total (9 wickets, 50 overs)  251

D Vincent   c Guy b Johnston   1   Bowling: LURGAN
M Rea c Johnston b Kshirasgar 19   Johnston  9  2  23  3
A McClean  c A Hunter b K'gar 34   Woods     4  1  15  0
P Scolari       lbw b Neill   30   Kshi'gar 10  1  27  2
J Daly            b Donnelly   7   Lyness    6  0  22  0
F McDermott      b Johnston   28   Neill     9  0  40  2
B Bergin      c Guy b Neill   20   Donnelly 9.1 0  33  2
F O'Mahony           run out   5
B McNeice            not out   5
J Barry     c Guy b Johnston   3   FOW
G Kirwan          b Donnelly   6   2, 43, 72, 100, 100,
Extras                        20   139, 162, 162, 169, 178
Total         (47.1 overs)   178

Umpires: P Lunney & R McClancey


  • Ballymena 154 (A Johnston 4-35) lost to Lurgan 156-4 (S Kshirasgar 84*) by 6 wickets
  • Woodvale 209-3 (S Warke 74, A Raza 53, I Dempster 49) lost to Clontarf 213-6 (D Vincent 78, M McNeill 3-34) by 4 wickets


  • Waringstown 174 (A Waite 43) lost to Clontarf 178-0 (D Vincent 101*, M Rea 70*) by 10 wickets
  • Woodvale 170-7 (A Raza 63*) beat Downpatrick 150 (A Raza 3-16) by 20 runs
  • Lurgan 196-8 (S Kshirasgar 53) beat Ardmore 145 (P Brolly 64, A Johnston 4-37) by 51 runs
  • Ballymena 212-5 (A Neill 100*, A Goodrich 79, S Corlett 3-16) beat NICC 212-8 (M Napier 48, D Simpson 42) on wickets lost

3rd Round

  • Clontarf beat Phoenix by 6 wickets.
  • CYM lost to Woodvale in a bowl-out.
  • Dublin YMCA lost to Ardmore in a bowl-out.
  • Leinster lost to Ballymena by 27 runs.
  • Limavady lost to Lurgan by 9 wickets.
  • NICC beat Merrion y 9 wickets.
  • North Down lost to Downpatrick by 4 wickets.
  • Waringstown beat Holywood by 95 runs.

2nd Round

  • Bangor lost to Limavady by 19 runs.
  • Carlisle lost to Waringstown by 19 runs.
  • Clontarf beat Brigade by 97 runs.
  • Cork County lost to CYM by 84 runs.
  • Fox Lodge lost to Ballymena by 69 runs.
  • Dublin YMCA beat Sion Mills by 78 runs.
  • The Hills lost to Ardmore by losing more wickets.
  • Holywood beat Strabane by 25 runs.
  • Leinster beat Bready by 21 runs.
  • Lurgan beat Eglinton by 48 runs.
  • Malahide lost to Woodvale by 60 runs.
  • Merrion beat Limerick by 6 wickets.
  • NICC beat Old Belvedere by 4 wickets.
  • Phoenix beat Donemana by 7 runs.
  • Railway Union lost to North Down by 4 wickets.
  • St Johnston lost to Downpatrick by 3 wickets.

1st Round

  • Pembroke lost to North Down by 3 wickets.
Reports & Articles

Third win in nine years is easy for Lurgan (by Sean Pender)

A major surprise before the final had even begun was Lurgan skipper Gary McCollum's decision to drop himself in favour of Alan Woods with the captaincy passing to Alan Johnston. On the day itself, before a good-sized crowd of partisan supporters, Johnston won the toss and decided to bat-he must have had second thoughts when, after just two overs, both openers were out without scoring!

Kshirasgar was run out from the third ball of the day after a terrible mix-up he played the ball to mid-off for what he thought was an easy single only to find Tom Guy did not agree. Both batsmen were then at the same end, a terrible throw ended up in vain and the Indian was given out. Guy, obviously disturbed, played a rash shot soon after to be caught at the wicket. This brought in Ross McCollum somewhat earlier than the Lurgan supporters would have wished but what an innings he produced. He pulled Johnny Barry to the square leg boundary off his third ball and then dispatched a no ball from the same bowler for six over extra cover. He proceeded regally giving only one chance, in the eighties, before he was caught at long at attempting his sixth six. By that stage he had scored 91, including eight other boundaries, out of 148 for the third wicket with Dessie Neill (52). It was not surprising that the run rate failed to increase in the final 20 overs although the Hunter brothers, Graham and Alan, made sure Clontarf would have to chase a large victory target. Indeed, the final total of 251 for nine was the highest score of the 1990 competition. The only Clontarf bowler to survive the onslaught was Fergal O'Mahony who conceded just 12 runs before he dislocated a finger during his tenth over-maybe he did not survive after all!

Another big score from Deryck Vincent was essential if the Dublin side were to have any chance of victory. He came into the final with 351 runs in his previous four Schweppes innings but he flashed at the third ball of the innings from Johnston, and Tom Guy dived to his right to accept the chance. Then, at 43, Johnston took a low catch at mid-wicket to dismiss Michael Rea and the game appeared to have been decided. Clontarf never threatened to get close to Lurgan's total thereafter although Alan McClean and Peter Scolari both got into the thirties. Johnston claimed two more victims but it was Alan Donnelly who delivered the final blow to flatten Gerry Kirwan's stumps and signal the start of the Lurgan celebrations.

ICU President-elect Kevin O'Riordan had an easy job in nominating Ross McCollum for the Man of the Match award while brother Gary accepted the trophy from Jim Bradley of Cantrell & Cochrane.