Before Sunday, no Omani batsman had scored a century in their brief ODI history. They now have three centuries, with Aqib Ilyas scoring two of them as he starred in another fine all-round performance today in Nepal.

He wasn't alone today though. After both openers fell cheaply after the Americans put Oman in to bat, Ilyas and his captain Zeeshan Maqsood put together a 216 run partnership for the third wicket. Maqsood brought up his century first, from 103 balls, with Ilyas recording his second ODI century two overs later.

Maqsood was out the ball after Ilyas brought up his century having scored 109, whilst Ilyas was out ten balls later for 105. Oman's final total was 276-6. Saurabh Netravalkar and Rusty Theron split the wickets equally between them, with the former the least expensive, going for 37 runs from his ten overs compared to Theron's 60.

For the most part, the USA batting order struggled to score quickly enough in reply, typified by Aaron Jones coming in at number five in the 12th over, batting through the rest of the innings and only scoring 47 from 79 balls. Nisarg Patel was a notable exception with a quick 52 from 36 balls, but other than that there was no impetus to the USA innings.

Ilyas came into the Omani attack late on in the innings and took three of the last five wickets to fall to finish with 3-14. Bilal Khan took the last wicket to fall, finishing with 3-24. USA were bowled out for 184, losing by 92 runs. Ilyas was the obvious choice for a second consecutive player of the match award.

This leg of CWC League 2 comes to a conclusion tomorrow when USA will play Nepal. Oman, safe in the knowledge that they will remain top no matter the result in that contest, don't have another fixture in this tournament until December when they will play Namibia and hosts UAE. They will, however, have some ODI action before then as they will travel to the Netherlands for a quad-series also involving the hosts, the USA and Namibia.

Of more immediate concern for the Omanis though will come in just under two weeks when they will host an eight team ACC Western Region T20I tournament also involving Qatar, Bahrain, Kuwait, UAE, Maldives, Iran and Saudi Arabia. The finalists from that event will take part in the Asia Cup qualifier later in the year.