Netherlands claimed the title, fittingly finishing with a six, as they beat Papua New Guinea by seven wickets chasing down their target of 129 in 19 overs.

Brandon Glover's pace (3 for 24) alongside Roelof van der Merwe (2 for 15) and Timm van der Gugten's (2 for 18) slower bowling proved too much for PNG's batsmen, despite a final over blitz with 22 runs coming off it as Lega Siaka top scored with 36 to post a below par score of 128 for eight from 20 overs.

In reply, despite losing Tobias Visee early, Ben Cooper's 41 from 33 steadied the Dutch innings and kicked it up the gears before Colin Ackermann and Ryan ten Doeschate serenely rounded out the chase with six balls to spare.

Netherlands captain Pieter Seelaar said: "I'm very pleased and very proud of this team. Before we came here we struggled a little bit in Oman and there were a lot of it words said about it but I think we've come here and produced some very good cricket.

"The last two times we shared the trophy with Ireland and Scotland and I think deservedly now we're holding the trophy by ourselves.

"The way Ben batted at the start was very handy and then having Colin and Tendo [Ryan ten Doeschate] in that period where it was a little bit tougher meant experience came into it and they played very well.

"We have to make sure that in a years' time we're very well prepared, there will be a few challenges along the way but I think with the team we've got we should be very well placed."

PNG captain Assad Vala said: "We made our country really proud the way we played all throughout the tournament, it wasn't to be today but the way we fought all throughout the game I was really happy.

"The way Ackermann and ten Doeschate played, they showed us to bat and it's something we can learn from.

"Our batting wasn't up to scratch at this level in the final few games and we've got to do a lot to work to get it where we want to be."