Simi Singh replaces injured Jacob Mulder in the only change to the squad which won the T20 tri-series in Dublin last week.

CIYMS leg-spinner Mulder was withdrawn from the Dublin series after complaining of back pain and was replaced by Phoenix all-rounder Singh.

Mulder has a stress reaction in his lower back which means he will be unable to bowl for at least a month before starting his recovery period.

The team will also play in four-match series in Oman ahead of the World Cup Qualifiers in the UAE.

They will be joined by the hosts, The Netherlands, Nepal and a Hong Kong side coached by former Irish international Trent Johnston.

Clontarf speedster David Delany misses out on this tour due to his Maynooth University commitments and is replaced by Pembroke's Barry McCarthy.

“The T20 International squad gelled quickly during that last series, and the character the players displayed was admirable," said Chairman of Selectors Andrew White.

"They showed the fighting spirit that Irish teams have been renowned for, so it is great to see that coming through particularly in the newer members of the squad. It’s a real indication of great leadership within the group, and the experience that Gary Wilson brings to this side. Quite often those characteristics are underappreciated, but are vital to a side that is in transition – and have been pivotal to our improvement in this format of the game.

“After his impressive debut, we would have obviously preferred to have had David Delany available for Oman as well as the Qualifier, however David is in the final year of his university studies and we have had to balance his studying and playing as best we can. There have been ongoing discussions with David’s university, who have supported his leave from studies that will see him available in the UAE.”


Gary Wilson (CSNI) (Captain), Mark Adair (CIYMS), Andrew Balbirnie (Pembroke), David Delany* (Clontarf), Gareth Delany (Leinster), George Dockrell (Leinster), Shane Getkate (Instonians), Barry McCarthy** (Pembroke), Kevin O’Brien (Railway Union), Boyd Rankin (NW Warriors), Simi Singh (Phoenix), Paul Stirling (Middlesex), Harry Tector (YMCA), Stuart Thompson (Eglinton), Lorcan Tucker (Pembroke), Craig Young (North Down).

*WCQ squad only

**Oman series only