This Saturday, international cricket returns to Scotland for the second time in as many weeks with the opening fixtures of the much-anticipated ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier.

Taking place from 31st August to 7th September at Forthill Sports Club and Arbroath Cricket Club, eight teams will compete in a league-cum-knockout style tournament to claim two remaining spaces at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in Australia in February/March 2020. Fixtures are free to enter.

Scotland will be joined by Netherlands, Namibia, Ireland, Bangladesh, Papua New Guinea, Thailand and USA.

Scotland will play their first T20I against USA on Saturday 31st August at Forthill Sports Club at 14:00 in the group stages of the game. Thereafter, they will play Papua New Guinea on Sunday 1st September at Arbroath Cricket Club at 10:00 and Bangladesh on Tuesday 3rd September at Forthill Sports Club.

Ten fixtures – those scheduled for Forthill Sports Club – will be broadcast to ICC’s digital channels with a six-camera stream. All games will have highlights packages available on the same platforms.

Abbi Aitken-Drummond, from Montrose, said: “Having the chance to qualify for our first ever World Cup on Scottish soil is a great opportunity and we'll do everything we can to try and secure our place at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in Australia.

“I'm looking forward to heading back to the region where I grew up and began playing my cricket, too. It's not often our friends and family get to see us compete at home, and I've no doubt the local support will get right behind us.

“We have a relatively young squad and it's been great to see the new faces within the team have an impact and challenge for places. We're feeling prepared and we’re playing some good cricket at the moment – the team are ready for the challenge ahead!”


Kathryn Bryce (captain) (Edinburgh), Sarah Bryce (Edinburgh), Abbi Aitken-Drummond (Montrose), Priyanaz Chatterji (Dundee), Katherine Fraser (Edinburgh), Becky Glen (Durham), Rachel Hawkins (Motherwell), Lorna Jack (Paisley), Abtaha Maqsood (Glasgow), Megan McColl (Arbroath), Katie McGill (Edinburgh), Hannah Rainey (Edinburgh), Ellen Watson (Troon), Ruth Willis (Edinburgh)