The Women’s T20 World Cup also takes place in Australia next year and to get there Ireland must reach the final of the qualifying tournament in Scotland, starting on Saturday week.

Ireland yesterday named a 14-women squad, captained by Laura Delany, and including key all-rounder Kim Garth, fully recovered from injury.

Ireland will play a warm-up game against Papua New Guinea next Thursday, followed by group games against Namibia at Arbroath CC on August 31, and Netherlands and Thailand at Forfarshire CC, Dundee on September 1 and 3.

The top two go through to play semi-finals against the top two in the other group on September 5, with the final on September 7 in Dundee.

Ireland squad: L Delany (capt), K Garth (v/c), S Kavanagh, G Lewis, L Little, S MacMahon, L Maritz, L Paul, O Prendergast, C Raack, U Raymond-Hoey, E Richardson, R Stokell, M Waldron.