Waringstown booked their place in the Lagan Valley Steels T20 Cup Final with a 67 run victory over CIYMS at the Lawn on Friday evening.
Asked to bat first by visiting skipper Nigel Jones The Villagers got off to a flying start with Adam Dennison and James Hall putting on 96 for the first wicket after 11 overs.
Hall was first to go for 52 with four boundaries and four maximums and Dennison soon after for 40 with five fours and one six.
The Waringstown innings stuttered slightly after a great start but with contributions from Greg Thompson (15), Shaheen Khan (21) and 18 not out from James McCollum got their side up to a par total for 169 for 5 from 20 overs.
At halfway the total may have looked 15 to 20 runs light but the bowling and fielding performance from the home side booked them a place in the final on Sunday 22nd July at the Lawn.
The Villagers held all their catches in a fine and disciplined display with James Hall taking three catches himself in the outfield. A wicket apiece for Phil Eaglestone (1-23) and Kyle McCallan (1-21) plus two each for Lee Nelson (2-13) and Shaheen Khan (2-16) and James McCollum with (3-28) bundled out the visitors in the 16th over for 102.
Waringstown will play North Down in a repeat of last years final after the Comber side defeated CSNI by 51 runs in the other semi final.
The final will take place on Sunday 22nd July at The Lawn at 3:30pm as part of a double header with the Trophy final between Downpatrick and Holywood taking place at 11am.