Holders Clontarf have been handed a potentially tricky away day tie at NCU side Lisburn in the opening round of the 2014 RSA Irish Senior Cup.

2010 winners Merrion, who have reached the final in three of the last four seasons also face a trip to the NCU where they will take on Muckamore, winners of the inaugural RSA National Cup in 2012.

Donemana, winners of the competition in 2000, make the long trek to Cork County, one of two Munster sides in the competition. The other, Cork Harlequins travel to Pembroke.

The pick of the ties sees 2006 champions Railway Union entertain NCU Premier League joint champions Instonians, who made their solitary final appearance in 2011.

YMCA will be looking to rectify their failure to register an appearance in the final stages of the showpiece event, and they will be happy with a home tie against 1991 victors Downpatrick.

Newly promoted Ardmore face a daunting trip to North County, the most successful side in the competition's 32 year history with five wins.

Another NW side with a difficult hurdle is Glendermott, who are in the road to Skerries to challenge 2012 winners The Hills. Waringstown, who won the last of their three titles in 2011, ending a 16 year NCU drought in the event, have home advantage over newly promoted Terenure.

Another three times winner from the NCU, Lurgan, face 1998 champions Strabane, while St Johnston, the first team from the NW to win the event back in 1987, take on CSNI at Stormont.

Fox Lodge entertain 2009 winners Leinster, while Brigade, victorious in 1996 and 99, face 1986 champions Phoenix. Staying in the NW, Eglinton entertain NCU kingpins North Down, who were triumphant in 1989, 93 and 95, but whose recent record in the competition doesn't do themselves justice.

NW league champions Coleraine play host to CIYMS, while Bready, beaten finalists in 1995 face Ballymena, who made their sole final appearance back in 1998.

The draw was also made for the RSA National Cup, with the stand-out tie being holders Malahide, who must travel to the NW, where they will play Ballyspallen.

Other fixtures which capture the imagination are last year's beaten finalists Derriaghy who face Creevedonnell, and 2012 runners-up Balbriggan who have home advantage over Newbuildings.

The first round ties in both competitions will take place on Saturday May 10th, with the reserve date being set for Sunday May 25th.

Cork County v Donemana
Pembroke v Cork Harlequins
Railway Union v Instonians
YMCA v Downpatrick
North County v Ardmore
The Hills v Glendermott
Waringstown v Terenure
Muckamore v Merrion
Lisburn v Clontarf
Lurgan v Strabane
CSNI v St. Johnston
Fox Lodge v Leinster
Brigade v Phoenix
Eglinton v North Down
Coleraine v CIYMS
Bready v Ballymena

First Round Ties are to be played on Saturday the 10th of May (reserve date Sunday 25th May)

RSA National Cup Draw

Midleton v Ballaghaderreen
County Kerry v County Galway
Athlone v County Clare
County Sligo v Limerick Raiders
Dundrum (LCU) v Holywood
Civil Service (LCU) v Dundrum (NCU)
Laois v Sion Mills
Balbriggan v Newbuildings
Carrickfergus v North Kildare
Templepatrick v Mullingar
Derriaghy v Creevedonnell
Cliftonville v Bonds Glen
Ballyspallen v Malahide
Killyclooney v Rush
Drummond v Bangor
Burndennett v Woodvale


Saturday 10th May - Round 1 (Reserve Day Sun 25th May)
Sunday 8th Jun - Round 2
Sunday 29th Jun - Round 3
Saturday 2nd Aug - Semi-Finals
Saturday 23rd Aug - Irish Senior Cup Final
Sunday 24th Aug - National Cup Final
Sunday 31st Aug - Reserve Date for both Finals