The first round groups and fixtures of the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 have now been confirmed after the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier UAE 2013 concluded at Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Saturday.

On the final day of the 16-day tournament, Ireland retained its title when it defeated Afghanistan by 68 runs, while Nepal beat the United Arab Emirates (UAE) by five wickets to finish third.

On Friday, the Netherlands claimed fifth position when it overcame Hong Kong by seven wickets.

As such, the two groups for the first round of the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 are: Group A - Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Nepal, Hong Kong

Group B - Zimbabwe, Ireland, UAE, The Netherlands       

The first round fixtures are:

  • Sunday 16 Mar - Bangladesh v Afghanistan (1530-1830), Mirpur; Nepal v Hong Kong (1930-2230), Chittagong
  • Monday 17 Mar - Zimbabwe v Ireland (1530-1830), Sylhet; UAE v Netherlands (1930-2230), Sylhet
  • Tuesday 18 Mar - Afghanistan v Hong Kong (1530-1830), Chittagong; Bangladesh v Nepal (1930-2230), Chittagong
  • Wednesday 19 Mar - Zimbabwe v Netherlands (1530-1830), Sylhet; Ireland v UAE (1930-2230), Sylhet
  • Thursday 20 Mar - Afghanistan v Nepal (1530-1830), Chittagong; Bangladesh v Hong Kong (1930-2230), Chittagong
  • Friday 21 Mar - Zimbabwe v UAE (1130-1430), Sylhet; Ireland v Netherlands (1530-1830), Sylhet