The principal focus of Saturday's final day may have been at the County Ground in Hove but Germany and Norway, playing at nearby Blackstone for seventh place overall, produced the most exciting finish of the competition, with Germany winning by a single run.

Damon Crawford struck twice when Germany, having elected to bat, began their innings, but Khalid Butt and Asif Khan led the fightback with a third-wicket stand of 64 before the former was run out by Abidul Haq for a 37-ball 47.

Khan went on to make 55 from just 35 deliveries, hitting one four and five sixes, and with Nafees Ahmad and Demuni de Silva chipping in with 15 and 19 not out respectively the Germans reached 162 for six.

Crawford's four overs cost just 11 runs with the two initial wickets , and Zeeshan Siddiqui and Safir Hayat collected one apiece.

Needing more than eight an over, Norway built their innings carefully, Suhail Iftikhar making a run-a-ball 26, but Iftikhar Hussain then created greater momentum with a rapid 54, made from 33 deliveries with four fours and three sixes.

Safir Hayat contributed 26 off just 11 balls, but a flurry of wickets in the closing stages held up the Norwegians' progress, and in the end they finished just one run short with eight wickets down.

Victory came a good deal easier for the Isle of Man, who completed a seven-wicket victory over Gibraltar in their ninth-place play-off.

Their heroes were Arne van den Berg, who claimed three for 9 in an impressive four-over spell which was instrumental in containing Gibraltar to 110 for seven, and Jaco Jansen, who batted through their reply and made a 40-ball 46, sharing a second-wicket stand of 56 with Phillip Littlejohns (38).

Kieron Ferrary top-scored for Gibraltar with an undefeated 28, but their total never seemed likely to be enough and the Manx batsmen cruised to victory with 19 balls to spare.