The teams gaining promotion to Division Seven of the World Cricket League have been confirmed after today's semi-finals in Samoa.

Vanuatu secured their promotion place in their match against Belgium. Batting first after winning the toss, Belgium lost wickets early, but the middle order rallied to help them reach 227-9 from their 50 overs, Patrick Matautaava top scoring with 48.

Belgium struggled in reply and were bowled out for 144, losing by 83 runs. Aamir Iqbal top scored for them with 34 and Nirvam Shah was the only other batsman to get a start with 31.

The other semi-final was something of a surprise with the previously unbeaten Japan going down to Ghana. Ghana batted first after they won the toss, and were able to score 198, extras the top scorer with 39. Daniel Mee was the pick of Japan's bowlers with 3-21.

In reply, Japan lost wickets regularly, and were bowled out for 136, losing by 62 runs. No one bowler dominated, with the wickets being shared around.

In the fifth place play-off semi-finals, Samoa beat Bhutan by 6 wickets and Norway beat Suriname by 4 wickets despite an innings of 103 from Suriname's Mohindra Boodram.

Friday is a rest day in Samoa, and the final and ranking play off matches will take place on Saturday.