Balbriggan will meet Muckamore in the final of the National Cup after winning their respective semi-finals at the weekend.

Balbriggan had 48 runs to speare over their North Dublin neighbours Rush in a 42 over contest.

Roger Kear was the batting hero, top scoring with 73 from 76 balls, which included an impressive 13 boundaries. Safraz Anwar with 39 shared in a 4th wicket stand of 53, as Balbriggan posted 172 all out with 3 balls unused.

Lionel Jansen claimed 3 for 32, while there were two wickets apiece for Gull, Iqbal and McGuire.

Alan Butterly and James Sheridan fell cheaply, but with Lionel Jansen and Sadat Gull well set, Rush looked on course for the win at 62 for 2. but the dismissal of Jansen by Ali Qasim for 37 proved the turning point.

Qasim finished with 3 for 34 as Gull was left staranded on 39 as Balbriggan ran through the lower order. A 48 run margin of victiry didn't flatter the delighted Balbriggan side who celebrated their win long into the small hours.

They will probably start the final against Muckamore as underdogs. The NCU outfit were winners by a mammoth 182 runs at home to Civil Service Dublin.

An opening stand of 115 between teenagers Jordan Mairs (54) and Craig Drummond (48) helped the Antrim side to 242 for 6, with professional Indrajeet Kamtekar weighing in with 80, and Neil Gill hitting a rapid 24.

Former Ireland Under 19 and A international Gill then took five wickets in an explosive opening spell from which the Dublin side never recovered.

They eventually were skittled for just 66, leaving Muckamore 177 run winners. Gill finished with 5 for 7 and Conor Breet 4 for 23.

The final will be played on Sunday September 2nd, with the venue still to be determined.