The Americas representatives at the global Twenty20 qualifier in Dubai next year have been confirmed after yesterday's results at the ICC Americas Twenty20 championship.

They were confirmed after the first match when Bermuda played the Cayman Islands. Bermuda bowled well to restrict the Caymans to 87-8 from their 20 overs, with only two batsmen reaching double figures. Kamau Leverock was the pick of the bowlers with 3-13.

Bermuda had little trouble chasing down that target, with Lionel Cann and David Hemp opening with an unbroken stand of 88 to secure a 10 wicket win, Cann scoring 54 from 43 balls, including four sixes.

In the afternoon game, Argentina chose to bat first against Suriname, and were on 63-5 before two overs of off-spin from Mohindra Boodram demolished their batting line up. Argentina had no answer to him as he took 5-14 to finish them off for 83.

Arun Gokoel top scored in their reply with an unbeaten 36 as Suriname won by five wickets with an over to spare, their first win over an Americas Division One team.

Bermuda's win earlier may have assured that the USA would qualify for the global qualifier, but the Americans would still have been keen to win against their oldest rivals. Canada raced ahead early in their innings, Khushroo Wadia smashing 56 from 35 balls.

But from 96-2, Canada could only score 131, Bhim George and Orlando Baker taking three wickets each. In reply, the hosts started well with Sushil Nadkarni scoring 40 from 35 balls. But some tight Canadian bowling towards the end kept them restricted to 121-9 from their 20 overs and they lost by 10 runs.

Canada will secure the championship should they beat Suriname tomorrow. The USA will play Bermuda and Argentina will play the Cayman Islands.