The Pacific Games will begin in the French Pacific territory of New Caledonia in August, and cricket will be one of 26 sports in the event for the third year running, and the sixth time overall.

For the first time the tournament will be played in the Twenty20 format, and will be sanctioned by the ICC, meaning that ICC eligibility rules will apply and all matches, except those involving non-ICC member New Caledonia, will be official internationals, though without full international Twenty20 status.

Seven teams will take part, with Vanuatu and the Cook Islands returning after missing the 2007 tournament to join the hosts, defending champions Papua New Guinea, Fiji, Samoa and Tonga. Six of those will look to end Papua New Guinea's monopoly on the gold medal, which they have won in every tournament to date.

The 1987 Pacific Games in New Caledonia also included a cricket tournament, though the hosts don't exactly have a good record, losing every single match they've played, the nadir being the match in 2007 against Papua New Guinea when they lost by 510 runs after conceding 572-7.

The tournament, to be played as a single pool of seven teams, will start on 29 August, with three matches being played every day except for three rest days before the medal matches on 8 September.