Afghanistan players Hamid Hassan and Mohammad Nabi have been named in the MCC squad for the champion county match against Nottinghamshire in Abu Dhabi later this month.

The four-day fixture will be played at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium, starting on 27 March. It will be contested under floodlights using a pink ball as part of the MCC's investigations into the feasibility of day/night Test matches.

The team will be captained by Australian international Chris Rogers and will also feature India's Rahul Dravid and England internationals Simon Jones and Steven Davies. Sourav Ganguly will replace Dravid in the squad for a Twenty20 tournament that will also involve Nottinghamshire, Durham, Sussex and a Fly Emirates XI that starts on 1 April.

Hassan and Nabi both played for the MCC against Pakistan at Lord's last year and on the MCC's tour of the Netherlands in 2006. Nabi also played against Sri Lanka A in 2007, with Hassan playing against a Europe XI the same year. Both are former MCC Young Cricketers.

Full squad: Chris Rogers - Middlesex & Australia (captain), Steven Davies (wicket-keeper) - Surrey & England, Rahul Dravid - India (Champion County fixture only), Sourav Ganguly - India (Twenty20 only), Hamid Hassan - Afghanistan, Simon Jones - Hampshire & England, Gary Keedy - Lancashire, Steve Kirby - Somerset & England Lions, Dawid Malan - Middlesex, Stephen Moore - Lancashire & England Lions, Mohammad Nabi - Afghanistan, Stephen Peters - Northamptonshire, Toby Roland-Jones - Middlesex, Omar Ali (12th man) - MCC Young Cricketer