Schalkwyk, Young, Hawthorne and Smith named in a strong 11-umpire group - Vince Van Der Bijl pays tribute to a retiring Subhash Modi

The International Cricket Council (ICC) today announced that umpires Theunis van Schalkwyk (Namibia), Courtney Young (Cayman Islands), Mark Hawthorne (Ireland) and Richard Smith (Cyprus) have been added to the ICC Associate and Affiliate International Umpires panel following the annual review and selection process.

The panel was named by the Associate and Affiliate Selection Committee which is made up of Vince Van Der Bijl, ICC Umpire and Referees Manager, ICC regional match referee David Jukes, ex-Test umpire Brian Aldridge, ICC Match Officials Operations Manager Brent Silva and ICC Development Events Manager Edward Fitzgibbon.

The four new umpires have replaced Subhash Modi of Kenya, who has retired earlier this month after umpiring in international cricket for nine years, Paul Baldwin of Germany, who has resigned following his selection in the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) reserve umpires' panel for the second successive year, and Karran Bayney, who has failed to retain his position.

An additional umpire in the Europe Region was also appointed following a request by the region to meet its growing needs and requirements.

Subhash Modi, 64, who retired earlier this month, will now be a match referee for the Africa region and Mr van der Bijl said: “Subhash Modi has made invaluable contributions during a fine career in which he umpired in 22 ODIs and nine T20Is. Modi was a role model for the emerging umpires from the Associate and Affiliate countries.”

The umpires on the ICC Associate and Affiliate International Umpires panel can be assigned to ODIs and T20I matches involving Associates and Affiliates Members as well as officiate in under-19 and women's cricket.

ICC Associate and Affiliate International Umpires panel 2011

  • Africa - Jeff Luck (Namibia), Theunis van Schalkwyk (Namibia)
  • Americas - Roger Dill (Bermuda), Courtney Young (Cayman Islands)
  • Asia - Buddhi Pradhan (Nepal), Sarika Prasad (Singapore)
  • East Asia Pacific - Shahul Hameed (Indonesia)
  • Europe - Niels Bagh (Denmark), Mark Hawthorne (Ireland), Ian Ramage (Scotland), Richard Smith (Cyprus)