The third annual Cricket Writers of Ireland awards dinner was held last night at the Civil Service Sports Club in Belfast.

Current Ireland captain Trent Johnston collected the International Player of the Year accolade, beating off the challenge of Kevin O'Brien, John Mooney and Andrew White.

Johnston smashed the Irish record for number of wickets in a season, taking 58 at 20.17. During the season he passed the 200 wickets and 2000 runs landmarks for Ireland, and to date has captained Ireland 60 times. He currently stands joint third in the all-time capped list having played 138 times since his debut in 2004.

18 year old George Dockrell was the unanimous winner in the Young Player of the Year category. Dockrell began 2010 as a member of the Under 19 side, uncapped at senior level.

He made his debut on the Sri Lanka tour and before the year is out will also have visited Australia, New Zealand, West Indies, India, Zimbabwe, UAE, Holland and Canada in the service of Irish cricket.

The left arm spinner enjoyed a magnificent season, taking 49 wickets at 22.88 including playing a starring role in the ICC World Twenty20 in the West Indies.

Dockrell's excellent season saw him sign a county contract with Somerset, and he looks destined to become one of Ireland's all-time greatest cricketers.

The Club Player of the Year was the most hotly contested of all the categories, with six different players receiving significant support. In the end, Railway Union all-rounder Kenny Carroll emerged victorious pipping Ryan Haire, Kyle McCallan, Sadat Gull, and the Gillespie brothers.

Carroll scored almost 900 runs in all competitions including three hundreds, and also claimed 30 wickets and nine catches, putting him in the top five in each category in the Leinster Union.

He played a pivotal role as Railway won the Leinster Senior Cup and reached the final of the Bob Kerr Irish Senior Cup, and his prolific form saw him earn a call-up to the Ireland A squad.

Stephen Warke and Ivan Anderson were inducted into the RSA Hall of Fame, joining last year's recipients Alec O'Riordan and Dougie Goodwin.

In a 15 year career as a stylish opening batsman Stephen Warke played 114 times for Ireland, overcoming early setbacks to become Ireland's highest run-scorer with 4,275 runs at an average above 30.

Ivan Anderson won 86 caps in his 19 year career with Ireland. The all-rounder scored 3777 runs at 32.56, including seven centuries. In addition he claimed 48 wickets at 26.60, with a best bowling analysis of 5 for 21.

The Cricket Writers of Ireland would like to thank their generous sponsors, RSA, The Inn at the Coast Hotel, The Russell Court Hotel and the Ulster Bank which made the Awards night such a success.