Papua New Guinea have won the inaugural U17 Championships of the East Asia - Pacific region, defeating Vanuatu by 125 runs in the Grand Final of the 2010 Pepsi ICC EAP U17 Cricket Trophy held at Kazaa Field in Port Vila, Vanuatu this afternoon.

Surprisingly, Vanuatu Captain Callum Blake won the toss and elected to field in hot conditions, hoping that his bowlers could grab early wickets and have the PNG middle order under pressure.

PNG began their innings cautiously, and reached 40 without loss after 10 overs of tight bowling from Callum Blake and Nalin Nipiko.

Bau and Jimmy progressed the score to 60 before Jimmy (16) was caught from the bowling of Stephen, however PNG continued to tick the scoreboard over, with Bau (37) and Boge (46) in fine form, PNG made 218-5 from their 35 overs.

In reply Vanuatu were never in the hunt, with left arm swing bowler Kabua Vagi taking two early wickets, and Vanuatu Captain Callum Blake tragically run-out for just 2 to have Vanuatu reeling at 6 for 3.

Ronald Tari (13) and Nalin Nipiko (37) fought hard against the relentless PNG attack, but with the required run rate continuing to rise, Vanuatu lost the final 6 wickets for just 34 runs, PNG the victors by 125 runs.

PNG Batsman Nigel Boge was named Player of the Final for his innings of 46.

In the 3rd v 4th Playoff match between Fiji and Indonesia, Fiji ran out victors by 8 wickets in a competitive game at Independence Park.

Set just 87 to win from their allotted 35 overs after knocking over Indonesia in the 26th over, Fiji set out to keep wickets in hand early in their chase.

Opener Naipolioni Gu batted well for Fiji, patiently pushing the ball around the field during his 109 minute knock, well supported by Daucakacaka (20*), Fiji eventually comfortable winners by 8 wickets.

Brief scores:

At Kazaa Field: PNG 218-5, 35 overs (Boge 46, Bau 37) Vanuatu 93 all out, 30.3 overs (N Nipiko 37, K Vago 2-12, F Ifuda 2-19, P Seia 2-24) PNG won by 125 runs.

At Independence Park: Fiji 89-2, 22.2 overs defeated Indonesia 86 all out, 26 overs. Fiji won by 8 wickets.