Scotland duly took their third successive European Under-15 Division 1 title with a comfortable 122-run victory over Denmark in Utrecht on Saturday, while Ireland moved into second place by securing a seven-wicket win over Guernsey.

But the surprise of the day came on Salland's No. 1 pitch, where the Netherlands achieved their first win of the tournament, beating Jersey by five wickets.

Scotland started badly against Denmark, losing their first three wickets for just 15 runs, but Omar Afridi and Lyle Hill set about rebuilding their innings with a fifth-wicket partnership of 74. Afridi was eventually trapped in front by Oliver Weatherall-Thomas for 48, but Hill went on to make 56, and with Chris Cash and Sebastian Stewart contributing in the closing stages the Scots managed to reach 250 for eight.

Gavin Main snatched three quick wickets at a cost of just four runs when Denmark replied to leave them on 12 for three, and although Oliver Weatherall-Thomas(27) and Mati Malik (29) resisted for a time the Scots were always on top. Aditya Mehta also chipped in with three wickets, and with three run outs contributing to the Danes' misfortunes they were all out for 128 more than five overs before the scheduled close.

Ireland could thank a century opening stand - the highest of the week - between James Hunter (45) and Calum McGregor (57) for their comfortable seven-wicket victory against Guernsey.

They were chasing 122 to win, Chris McMorran and Peter Ferguson having taken three for 21 and three for 19 respectively as Guernsey were bowled out for 121. Toby Belton and Lucas Barker had given the islanders a reasonable start, but it was again Matt Stokes who was Guernsey's top scorer with 30.

After four successive defeats, hosts the Netherlands bowled their way to a last-day win, dismissing Jersey for 85 in 39.1 overs. Only Elliott Corbel and Dominic Blampied were able to reach double figures as the home side displayed admirable line and length, Douwe Schoemaker the most successful of the bowlers with three for 12.

But the Dutch experienced a few tricky moments of their own as they chased this low total, Jersey skipper Luke Gallichan taking four for 16 as they slumped to 50 for five. Marc Lefebvre and captain Wessel Coster saw them home without further loss, however, Lefebvre top-scoring with an undefeated 23 as the Netherlands won with seven overs to spare.

Scotland allrounder Will Edwards won the tournament's Most Valuable Player award in a close contest with Guernsey's Matt Stokes, while the MCC Spirit of Cricket award went to Jersey.