Guernsey won the battle to avoid the dreaded wooden spoon when they inflicted a six wicket defeat upon Denmark at the picturesque Laurevale ground.

Batting first Denmark rallied from a precarious 58 for 6 to post a respectable 139 all out in 43.3 overs. That was due primarily to the efforts of Siddique Raja (17) and Glenn Hedevang (16), who added 34 for the 7th wicket.

The batting honours however went to wicket-keeper Vijayasai Sasitharan who top scored with an undefeated 28. Saif Yaqoob (16) also batted well, while the Danish total was boosted by 23 extras.

In the bowling department, Dale Mullen (3-30), Guy Batiste (2-4), Thomas Kirk (2-28), Andrew Hutchinson (2-34), and Glenn Le Tissier (1-12) were the wicket takers for Guernsey.

Chasing the modest total, Guernsey were given a perfect start when Adam Martel (21) and Isaac Damarell added fifty for the first wicket.

Thomas Kirk made 28 from 30 balls (4 fours), while Glen Le Tissier blasted 19 not out from 11 balls.

It was Damarell though who did the real damage, as he recorded a suoerb unbeaten 57 from just 63 balls (7 fours) to steer Guernsey to the win with six wickets and 24.3 overs to spare.

Denmark battled bravely in the field with Saif Yaqoob (1-10), Ihyas Sawmy (1-22), Laraib Ahmad (1-28), and Aqeel Amjad (1-32) their successful bowlers in a losing cause.