The Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) has submitted a final list of its cricket squad for the 16th Asian Games to be held in Guangzhou, China from November 12 to November 27, 2010.

The Cricket Post has obtained a copy of the list signed by ACB Chairman Dr. Hazrat Omer Zakhilwal, chief selector Hamid Shinwari and a selection committee member Ahmad Shah Ahmadi. This list includes 15 primary and five reserved players.

Nowroz Mangal will lead the squad with Karim Sadiq as a vice captain. Other members of the squad are: Mohammad Nabi Esakhil, Mirwas Ashraf, Hamid Hassan, Samiullah Shinwari, Noor Ali Zadran, Asghar Stanakzai, Shahpoor Zadran, Khaliqdad Nori, Aftab Alam, and Javed Ahmadi. Pamir Hussaini, and Gulbadeen Naib are also included in the squad for the Asiad. Gulbodeen last represented Afghanistan at the ICC World Cricket League Division 5 tournament in 2008.

Reserve players are Dawlat Ahmadzai, Izatullah Suhail, Shabir Ahmad, Abdullah Mazari, and Noorulhaq Malakzai.

The Twenty20 format of cricket has been included in the Asian Games, with Afghanistan, Bangladesh, China, Hong Kong, Pakistan and Sri Lanka having confirmed their participation to date. India has recently pulled out from the competition.

Article reproduced by kind permission of The Cricket Post