Mexico clinched the ICC Americas WCL Division 4 title with a resounding victory over the Falklands Islands by 211 runs today at the Reforma Athletic Club.

The Falkland Islands won the toss and elected to field, perhaps to give their batsmen time to recover from the celebrations after their victory in the game against Costa Rica a day earlier. However the Falkland's fielders struggled as ten catches were dropped in the first twenty overs.

The Mexican batsmen took full advantage of the opportunities and piled up 242 runs all out, with 6 overs of the allotted 50 still remaining. The Mexican innings were built around their top four batsmen. Tarun Sharma was top scoring with 72 runs from 84 balls, smashing a total of 12 fours. Good support came from Kaushal Ahuja who made 53 runs from 38 balls, with his fifty coming off of 35 balls, and Roger Sherman who had 41 runs in 60 balls.

Mexico threatened to post a mammoth total after the score reached 153 for 2 in the 25th over, but credit must go to the Falkland bowlers who were able to keep the total below the 300 mark. The Mexican lower order found the bowling of Kevin Clapp difficult to negotiate, as he bowled his slow drifters from the southern end with great effect to claim a career best of 5/34 in 6 overs. Clapp could have taken 8 wickets had his fielders backed him up but the smile on his face after leaving the field told the story of his exploit s here at this level.

Chasing a big total requires some carefully executed plans, and the Falkland's batsmen appeared not clear of the situation before them. No Falkland batsman reached double figures and the game was over inside twenty overs with the rain looming. Tushar Gupta, the Mexican captain, claimed 6 wickets for 13 runs with his left arm spin that bamboozled the Falkland's batsmen and secured victory and the championship for the host team.