The new West Indies domestic Twenty20 competition is set to be held in Barbados and Trinidad & Tobago at the end of July.

The tournament will be the first domestic Twenty20 event in the West Indies since the demise of the Stanford 20/20 two years ago. Unlike that tournament, the Leeward Islands and Windward Islands will not be divided and will compete alongside Jamaica, Barbados, Guyana, Trinidad & Tobago and the Combined Campuses and Colleges team.

And if reports coming out of Jamaica are accurate, the eighth team to take part will be Canada, who were runners-up to the USA in the recently concluded Americas Twenty20 championship.

The tournament will be televised worldwide, and there is an extra prize of a place in the lucrative Champions League tournament for the winners.