Cuba will not be participating in division four of the Americas Championship due to travel restrictions placed on the players by the Cuban government. The tournament will instead be played with just three teams - Costa Rica, the Falkland Islands and hosts Mexico.

It is the second time Cuba have had to withdraw from a tournament, the first being the 2008 Stanford 20/20 when they had to withdraw due to the US trade embargo, which prevented Allen Stanford from dealing with them.

There is a history of Cuban sportsmen defecting whilst abroad, especially baseball players seeking a career in Major League Baseball. Cuba rarely selects a full strength team for international baseball tournaments for this reason.