The Argentina U13 squad today set off for Lima, Peru where they will be defending the South American U13 title they won in Curitiba, Brazil last year.  The 2009 event was the first of its kind in the U13 age group, and the second tournament sees the introduction of Peru to the event, although sadly Brazil are unable to attend. Chile will also make their second appearance, like Argentina, and naturally pose a big threat to the Argentine's mission of back-to-back championships.

It will be really interesting to see the development of both Argentina and Chile since last year, with many of the boys from both teams having taken part in the ICC Americas U15 South Region series in February earlier this year, while a handful of the Argentines will also have benefitted from the Argentina U15 tour to South Africa undertaken in January.

The tournament format is T20 cricket, with three games a day, each team playing the other twice, culminating in a grand final on Sunday afternoon. An innovation will be a six-a-side competition to be played prior to the final. The boys will no doubt enjoy the wonderful setting of facilities of the historic Lima Cricket & Football Club in Lima, Peru.

The full Argentina U13 squad is as follows:

Ignacio Pizzo (captain), Matias Lado, Martin Peralta, Gonzalo Husain, James MacGaw, Felipe Nogues, Pedro Bisio, Teo Diaz Luzzi, Francisco Alvarez, Diego Juarez, Juan Zech, Agustin Lamensa, Locke Jones Cunningham, Jose Ignacio Claisse and Juan Maximo Schmidt.

Coach is Rodrigo Scioscia, Assistant Coach is Hernan Fennell, while Manager is Alan Fennell.

The team is drawn from seven different clubs or schools in a deliberate attempt to spread the impact of participation in the event for young U13 cricketers in Argentina.

The schedule of games in the 2nd South American U13 Championship, in Lima, Peru, is as follows:

Friday 9th April

T20 (20 Overs per team) Tournament

- Game 1 - 8.30am 11.15am - PERU vs ARGENTINA

- Game 2 - 11.30am 2.15pm - CHILE vs ARGENTINA

- Game 3 - 2.45pm 5.15pm - PERU vs CHILE


Saturday 10th April

T20 (20 Overs per team) Tournament

- Game 1 - 8.30am 11.15am - ARGENTINA vs CHILE

- Game 2 - 11.30am 2.15pm - PERU vs CHILE

- Game 3 - 2.45pm 5.15pm - PERU vs ARGENTINA


Sunday 11th April

'Cricket Veloz' (7-a-side) Tournament

- Game 1 - 8.30am 9.15am - Team 1 vs Team 3B

- Game 2 - 9.30am 10.15am - Team 2 vs Team 3A

- Game 3 - 10.30am 11.15am - Losers of Game 1&2

- Game 4 - 11.30am 12.15am - Winners of Game 1&2

T20 (20 Overs per team) Tournament FINAL

- Game 5 - 1.15pm 4.00pm - Top two teams

Presentation BBQ - from 4.00pm