The first British overseas territories tournament is set to take place in Montserrat in October this year.

Six of the British overseas territories (Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Saint Helena and the Turks and Caicos Islands) are members of the ICC in their own right, whilst another three (Anguilla, British Virgin Islands and hosts Montserrat) are part of the West Indies.

Invitations have gone out to all nine of the above, in addition to a quite remarkable invitation to the Pitcairn Islands, a remote settlement in the middle of the Pacific ocean. It has a population of just 51, and is the least populated and most remote jurisdiction on the planet.

The remaining four British overseas territories have purely military or scientific research populations, so are unlikely to be playing in the tournament.

The tournament will be a Twenty20 contest, and will take place between 15 and 24 October. The matches are likely to be played at the Salem Oval, which is Montserrat's home ground in the Leeward Islands tournament, and has hosted three first-class matches in the main West Indies domestic competition.