Cambodia's men's team have proved that their win in the 50-over tournament was no flash in the pan with another gold medal, this time in the T20 format, again beating Malaysia in the final.

The T20 tournament had six participants, with Singapore and the Philippines joining Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand and the hosts from the 50-over tournament. This required a group stage with Malaysia coming out on top in Group A ahead of Indonesia and Thailand whilst Cambodia finished ahead of Singapore and the Philippines in Group B.

Malaysia had been dominant in their two matches - beating Indonesia by 94 runs and Thailand by 8 wickets after a 12.3 over run chase, whilst Cambodia's wins were a little closer, beating Singapore by 15 runs and the Philippines by just 8.

The group winners then met in today's gold medal match with Malaysia chosing to bowl first. Sahaj Chadha top scored for the home team with 35 with knocks of 26 by both Ram Sharan and Luqman Butt playing a key part in their total of 143-9. Syazrul Idrus was the pick of the Malaysian bowlers with 3-30.

After two early wickets in their chase, the Malaysian reply picked up some steam with Vijay Unni scoring 38 from 31 balls before he was run out. The lower order fell away though - needing 18 runs with four wickets and 3.1 overs in hand, they managed to be bowled out for 131, losing by 12 runs.

Another gold for Cambodia then, who have come from nowhere to be the team to beat in the competition - play gets underway in the T10 event tomorrow. It may raise eyebrows, particualrly amongst those who remember UAE coming from a similar position to win the 1994 ICC Trophy, but it's hard to deny that it's a fascinating story.

Earlier in the day, the bronze medal match was played between Singapore and Indonesia, with Singapore - gold medallists last time out - winning by 15 runs.

The first gold medal for women's cricket has also been awarded with the sixes tournament taking place in its entirity yesterday. The five teams were divided into two groups - one consisting of Indonesia, Myanmar and Singapore and the other just of Cambodia and the Philippines.

Indoensia won both matches against Myanmar and Singapore to qualify for the final against the Phlippines who won the only match of Group B against the hosts. Myanmar beat Singapore to qualify for the bronze medal match against Cambodia.

In the gold medal match, Indonesia scored 78-1 in their six overs before restricting the Philippines to 25-5 to win by 53 runs - a thrashing in a contest this short. Myanmar won by five wickets in the bronze medal match after restricting Cambodia to 23-3 and knocking off the runs in just 11 deliveries without loss.