Ireland's most capped player Kevin O'Brien has been left out of the squad for their tours of the USA and West Indies which start next month.

The 37 year-old has played 386 times since his debut in 2006, but now his time in the green jersey looks to be over after his exclusion. He retired from the ODI arena earlier this year to concentrate solely on the 20-overs format.

Harry Tector is also left out of the T20 squad, but is included in the one-day side, as well as Ben White for the first time, and the experienced NW duo of William Porterfield and Andy McBrine.

"The Selectors have had to make some tough decisions as we look to move the men’s squad forward, particularly in the T20 format," said Andrew White.

“One of the hardest selection calls has been to omit Kevin O’Brien from this tour. Kevin has been an instrumental part of our senior squads for many years, and played a key role at the top of the order in the T20 format in recent years.

"However, with the T20 World Cup Qualifier just around the corner, the selectors want to try a different dynamic at the top of the order, and enable greater power-hitting potential in the middle order.

“The statistics don't lie – in T20Is we have had a problem for a while now with boundary and six-hitting - particularly outside the powerplay overs. We see the way that the best sides can accelerate their scoring rates and access the boundaries during the latter overs of an innings, and we have lacked that in recent times.

"An ability to clear the ropes is also an area we have to try and address, and as such we have brought William McClintock and Shane Getkate back into the reckoning to add firepower to the middle order. We will also re-jig the batting order at the top, with Andrew Balbirnie to partner Paul Stirling as an opening pair."

Josh Little has been given a NOC to play in the Lanka Premier League and will miss the T20I's in the USA, but will be involved in the ODI's.

Ireland leave for the USA on December 16th with the first match on the 22nd.

Ireland T20I : Andrew Balbirnie (c) (Pembroke), Mark Adair (CIYMS), Curtis Campher (YMCA), Gareth Delany (Leinster), George Dockrell (Phoenix), Shane Getkate (Instonians), Josh Little (Pembroke), Barry McCarthy (Pembroke), William McClintock (Donemana), Neil Rock (Rush), Simi Singh (YMCA), Paul Stirling (North Down), Lorcan Tucker (Pembroke), Ben White (CSNI), Craig Young (North Down).

ODI: Andrew Balbirnie (c) (Pembroke), Mark Adair (CIYMS), Curtis Campher (YMCA), George Dockrell (Leinster), Josh Little (Pembroke), Andy McBrine, (Donemana), Barry McCarthy (Pembroke), William Porterfield (Formby), Neil Rock (Rush), Simi Singh (YMCA), Paul Stirling (North Down), Harry Tector (YMCA), Lorcan Tucker (Pembroke), Ben White (CSNI), Craig Young (North Down).