The ICC Menís T20 World Cup Asia B Qualifier which is two steps away from Australia 2022 has been cancelled and Hong Kong will progress to the next stage of the pathway.

Due to ongoing COVID-19 travel restrictions and the extensive quarantine periods for teams returning home after international travel the event has been cancelled.

Bhutan, China, Malaysia, Myanmar, Hong Kong and Thailand were all due to participate between 9 and 15 November 2021 in Malaysia.

Under Member approved ICC COVID guidelines for all pathway events and in accordance with the principles approved by the ICC Board in November 2020, Hong Kong will progress as the highest ranked team in the MRF Tyres ICC Menís T20I Team Rankings as of 30 April 2020.

Hong Kong will join Nepal, the Philippines, Singapore, UAE, Zimbabwe, six regional qualifiers and the bottom four teams from the Menís T20 World Cup 2021 in the A and B Qualifiers due to take place in 2022.