The NCU and Leinster U15 sides shared the honours as they won a game apiece in their independent series at a sun-drenched Laurelvale.

A solid batting effort set up Leinster for victory in the first game as Brian Dunphy hit six fours and a six in a top score of 47 from 34 deliveries, sharing an opening stand of 85 in 11 overs with Aaron Doyle, who made a run-a-ball 32.

Both fell in quick succession to James West (2-34), but Olly Riley and Macdara Cosgrave each hit 29 as they added 60 for the third wicket in eight overs to take the visitors to 158 for 4.

An opening stand of 66 between the prolific Ryan Hunter and Finn Lutton (20) looked to have laid the perfect platform.

Ryan Hunter

Hunter, who has scored two hundreds in the official interpro series, hit 11 fours and a six in an unbeaten 85 from 56 balls, but the hosts came up 21 runs short as two wickets apiece for Chris Scully and Reuben Wilson stalled their momentum.

Game two was a mirror image of the first with the NCU batting well to post 156 for 6, with Sam Magee top scoring with 61 from 46 balls (7 fours, 1 six), adding 80 in 10 overs with Finn Lutton, whose 45 included two sixes.

Ryan Hunter, batting down the order, made an unbeaten 29, while the successful Leinster bowlers were Reuben Wilson 2-20, Olly Riley 2-28, and Niall Cox 2-31.

At 56 for 6 in the seemed as if the hosts would win at a canter, but skipper Aaron Doyle counterattacked as he and Arshad Safi (17*) shared an unbroken stand of 90 in 58 balls.

Aaron Doyle

Doyle smashed 6 fours and 6 sixes in an undefeated 80 from only 50 balls, but despite his best efforts, they came up ten runs adrift in yet another thriller between two very talented and evenly matched sides.

Match One

Leinster 158-4 (20 overs; Brian Dunphy 47, Aaron Doyle 32, Olly Riley 29, Macdara Cosgrave 29*; James West 2-34)

NCU 137-6 (20 overs; Ryan Hunter 85*, Finn Lutton 20; Reuben Wilson 2-20, Chris Scully 2-27)

Leinster won by 21 runs

Match Two

NCU 156-6 (20 overs; Sam Magee 61, Finn Lutton 45, Ryan Hunter 29no; Reuben Wilson 2-20, Olly Riley 2-28, Niall Cox 2-31)

Leinster 146-6 (20 overs; Aaron Doyle 80*; James West 2-17, Harry Dyer 2-43)

NCU won by 10 runs