The Youth Interprovincial T20 Series got under way in Dublin yesterday (Monday) with double-headers at both Railway Union and Pembroke.

Three of the four Provincial sides were in action with Munster taking on both the Northern and Leinster Unions.

In the U15 Series, Munster had the NCU in a spot of bother reducing them to 8/3. Finn Lutton was first to go, bowled by Munster captain Kanishk Kumar, but it was Mirhamza Ahmedzai who quickly struck two huge blows bowling the prolific Ryan Hunter, and then trapping opposition captain Harry Dyer lbw, the NCU top 3 all gone with only a single to each of their names.

It took an unbroken sixth wicket partnership of 66 from the Muckamore duo Jude Keates (50*), and Sam Magee (35) to raise the finishing total to 142.

When Munster batted, only skipper Kumar (11) reached double figures as his opposite number Dyer claimed 3-9 in his four overs of off-spin, and seamer Lorcan Donnelly 2-2 in two. Munster bowled out for 49 and the NCU winners by 93 runs.

Leinster had a centurion in their game against Munster, captain Aaron Doyle posting exactly 100 off only 66 deliveries and finishing the innings unbeaten.

He shared a second wicket partnership of 152 with Macdara Cosgrave who contributed 54 to the final total of 181/2.

Munster were able to bat out their full twenty overs, but they would never threaten the win and finished on 95/7. Mirhamza Ahmadzai top scoring with 24 while Iftikhar Haque made 17.

Srihan Karpe had the best bowling figures for Leinster, his 3 wickets coming at cost of only 2 runs, while Cosgrave claimed 2-12 to add to his earlier half-century, as Leinster ran out winners by 87 runs.

Meanwhile the U17 Series was in progress across the road in Pembroke.

Leinster restricted Munster to 114/8 off their 20 overs, Sunil Gautam their top scorer with 32 while Eshan OíSullivan made 23.

Brandon Morris with 3-25 and Daniel Forkin 2-21 best of the Leinster bowlers.

The home side took only thirteen overs chasing down the target, Andrew Tonge (36), Jamie Forbes (34) and Phillippe Le Roux (31*) shared the 118/3, with Shoaib Zaizai claiming two of the three wickets to fall at a cost of 26 runs, Leinster winners by 7 wickets.

Against the NCU Munster scored 133/7, Estmullah Ibrahimi top scoring with 24, James Rose with 2-13 for the NCU. Munster did themselves no favours with their running between the wickets as they lost three wickets to run-outs in a succession of mix-ups.

The NCU won by five wickets, their 135/5 passing the Munster total in the 16th over, Matthew Halliday leading the way scoring 54. Adam Ly (22) and Carson McCullough (21) chipped in while it was Ibrahimi, this time with the ball, taking 3-24 Munsterís stand out player in the game.


U15 T20 Interprovincials Park Avenue, Dublin, 19 July.

NCU beat MCU by 93 runs.

NCU 142/5 (20 overs: J Keates 50*, S Magee 35; M Ahmadzai 2-27)

MCU 49 (18 overs: H Dyer 3-9, L Donnelly 2-2)

Park Avenue, Dublin, 19 July. LCU beat MCU by 87 runs.

LCU 181/2 (20 overs: A Doyle 100*, M Cosgrave 54)

MCU 94/7 (20 overs): S Karpe 3-2, M Cosgrave 2-12)

U17 T20 Interprovincials

Sydney Parade, Dublin, 19 July. NCU beat MCU by 5 wkts.

MCU 133/7 (20 overs: E Ibrahimi 24; J Rose 2-13)

NCU 135/5 (16 overs: M Halliday 54, A Ly 22, C McCullough 21; E Ibrahimi 3-24)

Sydney Parade, Dublin LCU beat MCU by 7 wkts.

MCU 114/8 (20 overs: S Gautam 32, E OíSullivan 23; B Morris 3-25, D Forkin 2-21)

LCU 118/3 (18 overs: A Tonge 36, J Forbes 34, P le Roux 31*; S Zazai 2-26)