The North West beat Leinster by three wickets to clinch the Under 17 forty-over league title in a hard-fought battle at St Johnston.

Chasing 156 for victory the hosts lost four early wickets as they wobbled, but were indebted to a superb innings from Raymond Curry to get them over the line.

Curry top scored with 79 from 97 balls, hitting 6 fours and 3 sixes, and shared in a vital stand of 80 for the fifth wicket with Khayat Bhavsar (24).

Raymond Curry top scored with 79 for the North West

Three wickets for John McNally and two for Patrick Morris meant there were a few late nerves before the win was achieved in the penultimate over, but the young Dubliners will rue the concession of 31 wides which was to prove crucial in the final analysis.

Phillipe Le Roux had earlier dominated the Leinster total of 155, hitting 9 fours in an excellent innings of 60 - using the reverse sweep in particular to great effect.

The Tonge brothers made 17 apiece while John Devane chipped in with 15.

Kyayat Bhavsar (3-39), Josh Wilson (2-10) - who bowled a superb opening spell - and Raymond Curry (2-28) did most of the damage, while there was a wicket apiece for Sam Kincaid and James McKillop.

Well done to coaches Kevin Martin and Kathryn Rough.

U17 Interpro winners, The North West

In the other game in Dublin, NCU were comfortable 79-run winners against Munster.

Rory Ellerby (47) and Tom Crothers (44) were best with the bat, while Adam Ly, Matthew Cherry, Mohammed Aahil, and Carson McCullough all scored 20s.

There were two wickets apiece for Ibrahmi, Safi and Hassan Khan.

Skipper Eshan O'Sullivan made a run-a-ball 51 in the chase, but only Ibrahimi's 31 offered support as they were bowled out for 164.

Robert Craigan claimed a five-wicket haul, while there were two apiece for David Kane and Adam Kennedy.

The teams will play two T20 each in two weeks time, while some of the sides have organized extra games independently.