The Czech Republic has announced their squad for the upcoming Central Europe Cup, the T20i competition, featuring the hosts, Austria, Luxembourg and Malta will be held in Prague from May 21-23.

The squad is captained by world record hodler Sudesh Wickramasekara, who jointly holds the record for the fastest T20i hundred, 35 balls, and vice captained by his Prague CC teammate Kushalkumar Mendon.

There are a number of debutants in the squad, most notably three players from Bohemian CC, top order batter Zahid Mahmood, pace bowler Abul Farhad and medium pace Bowler Ali Waqar, as well as All Rounder Satyajit Sengupta from Prague Spartans Vanguards, the first player from that club to ever be selected for the national team.

There are a number of notable omissions from the squad, Honey Gori, top order batter Sumit Pokhriyal and pace bowler Kyle Gilham, who are all unavailable for various reasons.

The Czech Republic are the current holders of the Central Europe Cup, having won it in 2019, last year's tournament was cancelled due to the Covid pandemic. As such this year's competitions will be the first T20i's to be held in the Czech Republic.

All matches will be played at Vinor Cricket Ground, on both the Scott Page field and the Banks field. Each team will play each other twice over the three days. And all 12 games will be streamed live.

Czech team announcement