The Global T20 Canada, which was cancelled due to the pandemic in 2020, has been moved to Kuala Lumpur for 2021.

Organisers felt it was impossible to host the event in Canada due to ongoing government restrictions and so will play it in the Malaysian capital over 18 days starting in June.

The six teams - named after Canadian cities - will play 22 matches, all at the Kinrara Oval. Squads will be made up of three "marquee" players, ten other international players, three Canadian national team players, three "emerging" Canadians and one Malaysian national team player.

The decision to move the season out of Canada will also bring into question whether the planned Americas qualifier for the T20 World Cup and Auty Cup series can still take place in the country later in the summer.