The KNCB have confirmed that Netherlands A will play in the European Cricket Championships in Spain later this year.

The Dutch are one of 15 countries that will play in three groups of five, with the winners and best runners-up going forward into a finals week.

“KNCB is thrilled to join the growing family of ECC cricket countries in Europe," said High Performance Manager Roland Lefebvre. 

"ECC promises to give our talented group of cricketers a new platform to express themselves in national team colours. We cannot wait for the tournament.”

Head Coach Ryan Campbell added his endorsement for the new competition.

“Our A team is so vital to Dutch Cricket’s future so giving them the opportunity to play at such a brilliant event on a world stage at the ECC will be a giant step forward in their development.”

Ireland have opted not to participate given that the event is a ten-overs competition, preferring to use their resources elsewhere.

However amongst the teams who will be taking part are Scotland A, Italy and Germany.


England amateurs (National County Cricketers Association representative XI); Scotland A, Italy, Netherlands A, Germany, Austria, Norway, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Belgium, Hungary, Czech Republic, Portugal, Finland.