Paddy O'Hara (CricketEurope)
The last UAE wicket to fall on Monday created a bit of debate as to whether the correct decision had been made by the officials. Paddy O'Hara talks us through the laws.
The Laws refer to the wicket being put down, if it is an attempt to achieve a Stumping or a Run out. If, during play, it is 'disarranged' in some other way - e.g. the wind blowing a bail(s) off, or an accidental collision by a fielder during play, this is described as the wicket being broken.
To achieve a dismissal, it is quite generally understood what has to happen, but how it must be carried out, is often not fully understood.
Run outs.:- The wicket can be put down by the ball. By a fielder with his/her hand or arm, providing that the ball is held in the hand or hands so used, or in the hand of the arm so used. The wicket is also put down if a fielder strikes or pulls a stump out of the ground, provided the ball is in the hand or arm that does this.
To put the wicket down it is sufficient to remove one bail completely from the wicket. (with the gift of TV, a bail can been seen to rise clear of the grooves and that is the instant the wicket is deemed to have been put down. BUT should that bail relocate back into the grooves of the stumps, the wicket has not been put down - hence the use of the word completely.)
The sequence for putting down the wicket is as follows :-1. Remove one bail, 2. Remove the other bail. 3. Remove one stump from the ground. 4. Remove any other standing stump from the ground, and finally, if all three stumps have been flattened, the fielder must replace one stump back into one of the stump holes and remove it, again in the proscribed way.
A fielder is entitled to rebuild the wicket while waiting for a return throw, but the umpire will only do so, when the ball is Dead.
In junior cricket where the match may be being played on an artificial pitch with spring loaded wickets, obviously stumps cannot be removed from the ground. So the umpires can only rule whether or not the wicket has been struck a second time.
I can relate a true story - honestly - from my early umpiring career. Last ball of the 1st innings. Batting side with wickets in hand. Conference between the batsmen "Whatever happens we will run !"
A total mishit goes straight back to the bowler. Batsmen meet and stop in mid pitch. Keeper rushes up to the stumps calling for the ball, and knocks both bails off with his pads. Takes the return in his left hand and pulls out a stump with his right hand and triumphally appeals as everyone starts to troop off to the pavilion in the mid-wicket direction.
I think for a moment and then shout out loudly "Not out". Everybody stops. `Keeper pulls out a second stump and shows it and the ball to me and appeals. ""Not out". `Keeper bangs the ball in one hand with the stump in the other hand and appeals again. "Not out".
Striker realising that he might get a Not out against his name strolls back into his ground, as the perplexed `keeper pulls out the last stump, throws it on the ground and says "I suppose that is not out either".
Correct, I said.