Andy Britton led from the front as Brigade edged out Cork Harlequins by eight runs in the All-Ireland T20 final at Rathmines.

Defending 125, the Brigade captain took four wickets to deny the Munster men the chance of another shock result.

The champagne moment was a stunning reflex catch low down to his left to dismiss Jack Buss, and with the former Irish international getting wickets at vital times, big game experience told.

Victory looked a long way off for the North West side after they were reduced to 85 for 6 in the first innings, but the momentum of the contest changed as Ryan Barr cleared the ropes three times on his way to 26 from just 11 balls.

David Murdock (23), Kyle Magee (20) and Andy Britton (16) had all gotten starts, but tight bowling by Matthew Brewster (2-16) and Seanan Jones (2-24), plus three wickets for Zubair Hassan Khan had Munster on top before Barr's late blitz.

Cork Harlequin found the conditions equally tricky and it was a nip and tuck affair throughout, with Ifty Hussain conceding just 14 runs in his four overs spell.

Mubeen Ali (26 off 22) and Jack Buss (17 off 22) added 42 to give Cork hope, but two wickets for Ross Allen, plus Britton’s excellent haul, ensured the trophy would be coming to the North West for the first time.

Man of the Match Britton dedicated the trophy to their former player and Chairman Roy Torrens who died earlier this year.

Brigade will now go on to Spain to represent Ireland in the European Club Championship next Easter.

At Rathmines, Brigade beat Cork Harlequins by 8 runs

Brigade 125-8 (20 overs; R Barr 26, D Murdock 23, K Magee 20; Z Hassan Khan 3-39, M Brewster 2-16, S Jones 2-20)
Cork Harlequins 117-9 (20 overs; M Ali 26, J Buss 17; A Britton 4-28, R Allen 2-30)