The UAE have named a squad of 17 for their four-match ODI series against Ireland which gets under way on Friday at the Sheikh Zayed stadium.

It will be the first competitive action for the Emiratis at international level for 11 months, but thanks to both a domestic T10 and T20 tournament, their players haven't been short of match practice.

(Ahmed Raza)

Skipper Ahmed Raza has been boosted by the inclusion of injury doubts Chirag Suri and Zahoor Khan, as his charges look to gain a win against the Irish in an ODI for the first time, having lost all their six previous encounters.

He can take inspiration from their last match against their opponents, a T20I win in the 2019 T20 World Cup Qualifiers. Rohan Mustafa, who is in the squad, collected the Man of the Match award with 4 for 18 and 39 from 16 balls as they won by five wickets.

The first game on Friday gets under way at 9.30am local time, 5.30am in UK/Ireland.


Ahmed Raza (captain), Chirag Suri (vice-captain), Rohan Mustafa, Mohammed Usman, Mohammed Boota, Zahoor Khan, Junaid Siddique, Waheed Ahmad, Zawar Farid, CP Rizwaan, Aryan Lakra, Karthik Meiyappan, Alishan Sharafu, Basil Hameed, Kashif Daud, Adithya Shetty, Vriitya Aravind