The regional qualifiers for the women's T20 world cup are being expanded in Asia and the Americas.

Whilst the full pathway to the 2022 tournament in South Africa is currently unknown, news has begun to emerge of plans for the regional qualifiers.

The Asian qualifier is set for September next year in Malaysia and will feature eight teams. In addition to hosts Malaysia, the teams are Bhutan, China, Hong Kong, Kuwait, Myanmar, Nepal and UAE. Both Bhutan and Myanmar will be competing for the first time.

For Bhutan, it represents a return to an official pathway event for the first time since 2014, though they did play in the Thailand T20 Smash T20I tournament last year. Myanmar have never played in a pathway event before, only making their debut at that Thailand tournament last year. They also played series against Singapore and Indonesia last year.

Thailand will not be competing as they will be automatically seeded in the global qualifier.

In the Americas region, Argentina and Brazil will return to regional qualifying for the first time since 2012 when they compete against USA and Canada next year. The last Americas qualifier was a three match series between the two North American sides, whilst in the tournament prior to that the USA competed in the European competition. There was no Americas representative in the 2015 global qualifier.