Cricket Ireland has announced that 18 full-time central player contracts and two retainer contracts for the senior international squad have been offered for next year.

Boyd Rankin, Tyrone Kane and Stuart Thompson miss out, while George Dockrell and  Shane Getkate have only been given retainer deals (formerly known as Emerging Contracts). 

Peter Chase, David Delany, Josh Little and Curtis Campher awarded full-time deals.

It's almost certainly the end of the line for Rankin who turned 36 in July. The Bready man has won 153 caps since his debut in 2003, and his haul of 228 wickets places him 8th on the all-time Irish list.

(Boyd Rankin)

Thompson, 29, made his debut in 2012, winning the last of his 83 caps in November 2019, not featuring at all this year.

Merrion all-rounder Kane has only played once this past two years, with the 26 year-old winning ten caps since his debut back in 2015. He did feature in Ireland's maiden Test against Pakistan at Malahide in 2018.

“The Selectors have been extremely pleased with the successful start to Curtis Campher’s Irish career, and the positive progress displayed by two exciting young talented pacemen in Josh Little and David Delany," said Chairman of Selectors Andrew White.

“We have also been delighted by the hard work and commitment shown by Peter Chase in improving his game – when he lost his full-time contract last year, Peter went away and worked on his action and approach to his craft, and we hope that he will once again be showing his skills at the highest levels.

“The questions posed to Selectors by the contracts process mean tough decisions have to be made. To those who have lost contracts – Boyd, Stuart and Tyrone – the door is never fully closed and the Selectors will be keeping a keen eye on their progress during the coming season.”

Performance Director Richard Holdsworth added:

“Fans will notice that we have offered 18 full-time contracts this year, one less than last time – we hope this will give us latitude to introduce more retainer contracts and effectively create a greater overall player pool spending invaluable contact time with the coaching staff.

"We have offered two retainer contracts so far, and hope to make further offers in due course.”


Mark Adair  (CIYMS), Andrew Balbirnie (Pembroke), Curtis Campher (YMCA), Peter Chase (Malahide), David Delany (Clontarf), Gareth Delany (Leinster), Josh Little (Pembroke),  Andrew McBrine (Donemana), Barry McCarthy (Pembroke), James McCollum (Waringstown), Kevin O'Brien (Railway Union), William Porterfield (Formby), Simi Singh (YMCA), Paul Stirling (North Down), Harry Tector (YMCA), Lorcan Tucker (Pembroke), Gary Wilson (CSNI), Craig Young (North Down)

Retainers (formerly known as Emerging Contracts)

George Dockrell (Leinster), Shane Getkate (Instonians)

Women contracts will be announced by the governing body next week.