Leinster clinched the Division One title for the third year in succession despite their scheduled home game against YMCA falling victim to the weather.

Laura Delany was understandably delighted at the Rathmines club securing yet another trophy.

"It's a great success for the club to win the league for the third year in a row," she told CricketEurope. 

(Leinster Women, 2020 Division One winners: Pic by Rob O'Connor)

"After losing a few players at the start of the season for various reasons to go unbeaten this year is a great achievement.

"We have a good mix of experience and youth in the team and it has been great to see different players contribute throughout the season."

It's been a real team effort for Delany and her squad, and the fluid nature of their line-up helped them adapt to many different scenarios.

"We rotated our order throughout the six games but Ellen Ridgeway, Rebecca Rolfe and Sophie MacMahon had a successful season with the bat.

"Unfortunately we lost our opening bowler Ava Canning early into the season due to injury but Katie Dillion, Sophie MacMahon, Jenny Sparrow and Maria Kerrison had successful spells throughout our campaign.

"A big thank you to our coach Rob O'Connor, committee and also to Cricket Leinster for all their hard work behind the scenes in ensuring that whilst it was a shortened season that we still had an opportunity to get back out on the field."

One match did get finished on Thursday night, with half centuries from Leah Paul and Rachel Delaney leading Merrion to a seven-run win (DLS) against Pembroke.