The Gallagher Women's Challenge Cup final takes place this Sunday as Waringstown and Civil Service Northern Ireland face each other at The Lawn, Waringstown (10:30am).

CSNI Captain Abbi Leckey will be hoping she will be holding the trophy aloft at the end of the game as CSNI bid to retain the cup they won for the first time last season.

However, Waringstown Captain, Charlotte Lyons, will be aiming to end the CSNI winning streak by leading her exciting young team to cup final glory.

On route to the final CSNI defeated North Down by 7 wickets in their first round match, followed by a five-wicket win over former winners Lurgan in the semi-final.

CSNI’s Sophie Thomas was named Gallagher Player of the match scoring 44 with the bat to help CSNI overcome a strong Lurgan team.

(CSNI with the trophy they won in 2019)

CSNI know they will need to be on top form again this Sunday if they are to overcome an exciting young Waringstown team.

Waringstown’s route to the final saw them defeat Instonians in a rain affected first round tie by nine runs on run rate.

Their semi-final was a great game and saw them overcome last year’s runner-up Muckamore, chasing down Muckamore’s 136 total to win the game by seven wickets.

Charlotte Lyons, Gallagher Player of the match in their semi-final, top scored with the bat (43no) leading her side to an excellent win over a very strong and experienced Muckamore team.

(Runs for Waringstown)

Both teams have shown excellent form this season so far. The 2020 Gallagher Women’s Challenge Cup Final is shaping up to be a great game between two evenly matched teams.

Will it be CSNI who retain the cup on Sunday, or will Waringstown continue their excellent form this season and lift the trophy on Sunday?

We await the outcome of what we hope will be a competitive contest to see who will be crowned Gallagher Women’s Challenge Cup winners 2020.

CricketEurope will be live-scoring both this game and also the Lagan Valley Steels T20 final between CIYMS and North Down on Sunday.

Waringstown: Charlotte Lyons (C), Cara Murray, Molly Mathers, Rachael Harrison, Rebekah Evans, Emily Mathers, Katie Patterson (Wk), Lois Lyttle, Abbi Harrison, Jennifer Hanna, Katie Hunter, Rachel Hanna

CSNI: Beth Healy, Sophie Thomas, Rachael Thomas (wk), Abbi Leckey (C), Aoife Fisher, Ash Healy, Jemma Gillan, Jemima Thomas, Nikhita Gondhia, Emma Scott, Annabelle Burton, Zoe Miller